See other Vienna properties

Vienna City Hostel

Dampfgasse 8, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 76% from 15 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • There were some ants on the bed.
  • 51%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Hwasung South Korea
  • Staff misinformed me about transfer for Airport. Nearly we shuttled the most expensive bus. Fortunately I cheked it in a last moment. Moreover everything was ok.
  • 63%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Weronika Poland
  • Clean facilities, good location, but the somewhat unfriendly staff and lack of atmosphere turned an otherwise great social area into a place to check your Facebook feed.
  • 69%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Very near subway and food. Very clean and new. Great value for money. Small 4 bed ensuite, but doable. Stayed 5 nights.
  • 94%
  • 28 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Place was great. Wifi was free. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. I liked how the shower and the toilet were in the room rather than outside in the hallway. Close to train station and u-bahn stop.
  • 83%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Riceley USA
  • A larger hostel which means less traveler atmosphere. The location is not very central, about 5-10min to the city center with an U-Bahn. Had a good stay though, the WiFi could have worked a little better.
  • 71%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Spent 4 nights on a weekend trip to Vienna! The hostel is quite close to the Polskibus bus station so was a plus for us. Very clean, nice atmospehere (although for partying students it might not be the best)! But the location is good, right by an underground stop and in a quiet neighbourhood. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast in the morning was tasty :) Had nice predrinks in the common area and even had a pack of cards at hand :) Would reccomend!
  • 86%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Anonymous England
  • Spent 4 nights on a weekend trip to Vienna! The hostel is quite close to the Polskibus bus station so was a plus for us. Very clean, nice atmospehere (although for partying students it might not be the best)! But the location is good, right by an underground stop and in a quiet neighbourhood. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast in the morning was tasty :) Had nice predrinks in the common area and even had a pack of cards at hand :) Would reccomend!
  • 89%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Anonymous England
  • Great hostel but the location wasn't in the main part of town. Good shopping near by the hostel though.
  • 83%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Brooke USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »