See other Amsterdam properties

Vita Nova

Oosterdok T/O 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 81% from 16 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's a cool place, very nice breakfast area. However, we got the shorter end of the stick I think: just next by the toilets. The beds were very hard (kinda expected from a boat), but every time one of us moved it creaked. Still worth the money if it's only for one night.
  • 74%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Lilian Sweden
  • Will definitely be my first choice on my next trips to Amsterdam. The guy who runs it is very nice and extremely helpful! He went out of his way to draw out maps of where I should go/what I should go see. Even lent me a power adaptor when I needed one. The breakfast was good; crepes, cereal, salamis, cheese, cereal, etc. The room was small, which was to be expected, and very clean and comfortable. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.
  • 100%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Justin USA
  • If you want to try something different for a very, very reliable price then this is your place to stay! In 10 minutes walking distance to the central railway station and the city center located you will sleep on the water in quietness and with a beautiful view. But don´t forget, you will stay on a boat! There is not too much space. But the main deck offers a beautiful big room carefully decorated. And there is the open upper deck!... Truly recommendet! :-)
  • 86%
  • 28 Sep 2014 Anonymous Austria
  • The Vita Nova, the oldest Houseboat in Europe, was a great experience. The Staff was very friendly&helpfull, prepared a great breakfast and were nice to chat with. The Boat itself is in a good condition,especially for it´s age, and delivers a beautiful atmosphere with it´s outlook over the harbor, the cousy cabines and the soft rocking of the waves. You can reach the Amsterdam central, redligth, Museums etc. really well by foot from the boat or take one ofthe close public-transportation ways.
  • 100%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Natalie Germany
  • Great place to stay. Friendly staff and a great breakfast. Rooms, however, are very small. If you are travelling as a couple there are no double beds. Just single bunk beds.
  • 89%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The owner was really nice and friendly. The cabins are small, but really nice and quiet. It's a different experience and I would definitely recommend it.
  • 86%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous Serbia
  • Fantastic place to stay. Very nice atmosphere and value for the money. I'd recommend bringing ear plugs though. As you can hear everything on the boat
  • 94%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Small rooms but it has to be considered the hostel run in a boat. Good service. Nice breakfast.
  • 69%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great experience to actually live on a boat for a couple of days, very central and ideal starting point for a walk into the city center for sigh-seeing, shopping, etc. Especially New Year's Eve was fantastic as we could see all the fireworks around from the boat! Staff on board was very friendly and helpful! Breakfast buffet was excellent, too. Rooms and shared bathroom small (as is on a boat...) but clean. I can definitely recommend Vita Nova and would decide again to stay there!
  • 91%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Caroline Austria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »