See other Amsterdam properties

Vita Nova

Oosterdok T/O 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 79% from 15 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place to stay. Friendly staff and a great breakfast. Rooms, however, are very small. If you are travelling as a couple there are no double beds. Just single bunk beds.
  • 89%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The owner was really nice and friendly. The cabins are small, but really nice and quiet. It's a different experience and I would definitely recommend it.
  • 86%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous Serbia
  • Fantastic place to stay. Very nice atmosphere and value for the money. I'd recommend bringing ear plugs though. As you can hear everything on the boat
  • 94%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Small rooms but it has to be considered the hostel run in a boat. Good service. Nice breakfast.
  • 69%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great experience to actually live on a boat for a couple of days, very central and ideal starting point for a walk into the city center for sigh-seeing, shopping, etc. Especially New Year's Eve was fantastic as we could see all the fireworks around from the boat! Staff on board was very friendly and helpful! Breakfast buffet was excellent, too. Rooms and shared bathroom small (as is on a boat...) but clean. I can definitely recommend Vita Nova and would decide again to stay there!
  • 91%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Caroline Austria
  • Location was great, breakfast was very nice, and staying on a boat was a really interesting addition to our vacation! The rooms are VERY small, but that was to be expected. The showers were also very tiny, which made you feel like you were playing twister trying to maneuver yourself and your towel etc in this little space. But it was a really unique experience and we would recommend it to anyone looking for very basic accommodations with an interesting twist!
  • 80%
  • 30 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Good breakfast and location. Shower and toilet a bit outdated. Good deal for the price!
  • 86%
  • 16 Oct 2013 Anonymous Finland
  • It was really a great place. The cabins are very small but they are nice and cozy and warm, especially in the Amsterdam rainy weather. We enjoyed it a lot and would definitely recommend it to others! Roy was so nice, the breakfast is good and the location is also nice, since it's not too close to the center (10 min walk). The only bad stuff would be the bathroom which could be a bit cold, but if you don't stay for too long it should be fine.
  • 97%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Andrew USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »