See other Sydney properties

Wake Up! Sydney Central

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 84% from 16 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel! Excellent location, friendly staff, good facilities - would stay there again! Internet a bit dodgy though. Didn't work in our room so had to sit in the hallway.
  • 91%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • Clean and modern hostel. Mabye a bit on the expensive side.
  • 91%
  • 26 Oct 2014 Knut Groenneroed Norway
  • The hostel itself is good. There are good showers and a good kitchen. There is always someone to attend you. But, there are two things that I really didn´t like it, at all. First of all, it was the first place I´ve been that didn´t accept US dollar. My boyfriend and I arrived late at night, just with US dollar and they didn´t accept. Second, I wanted to cancel three days of my reservation, because I want to go to Melbourne, and I couldn´t get my money back, even if I asked it in advance.
  • 77%
  • 19 Oct 2014 Jordana Brazil
  • Security should not be allowed to open doors on guests after knocking. They should wait for guest to open the door. Also online booking should clearly indicate that twin beds mean twin BUNK beds.
  • 86%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Karen USA
  • I stayed one night while waiting for my int'l flight connection from Sydney. It's conveniently located next to the train station where the airport trains depart. This is a very loud party hostel - so highly recommended if you're a partier. Less so if you need a quiet night sleep before a flight! Facilities are what you'd expect from a popular Australian hostel.
  • 77%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • We didn't appreciate the rooms, the windows couldn't be opened, the rooms are very sterile without ambiance. We had no to pay the Wifi. The worst were the messages of the loudspeakers in the evening, that was very disturbing.
  • 71%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Iris Germany
  • Disappointed with not having free WiFi during my stay.
  • 91%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Homayoun New Zealand
  • Conveniently located, fun atmosphere, very clean and comfy beds
  • 80%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Miriam Australia
  • The hostel is clean and facilities are alright. I think it was too big and really busy. I like the smaller ones where you feel lika a family. Kitchen was messy if you were not there right after they cleaned it. Too expensive, since nothing is included in the price except for linen. Annoying to always have to wait for the elevators...
  • 69%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • This is one of the best in the City and full value for the money.the staff are friendly and the facilites are great. Easy to access at any point of time.
  • 100%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Iyer Krishnan Iraq
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »