See other Sydney properties

Wake Up! Sydney Central

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 90% from 18 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good hostel. Lifts are slow and crowded
  • 83%
  • 09 Nov 2016 Anonymous Scotland
  • Brilliant hostel with friendly staff
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2016 patricia Northern Ireland
  • A great central location with a lively atmosphere, though not so lively it keeps you awake. Great staff, great facilities, great time.
  • 100%
  • 05 Oct 2016 Sylvia England
  • Clean Hostel, They are worry to clean every 3 hrs, good and safe place. The only issue is that the internet is not free for everyone.
  • 83%
  • 31 Aug 2016 Ximena Chile
  • No free wifi. But u did get 24 hours free.
  • 97%
  • 31 Mar 2016 Michael USA
  • The best hostel I have been to in my life. I'm grateful for your services. Thanks
  • 94%
  • 03 Mar 2016 Ralph USA
  • Overall a very nice hostel, and I was very happy with the lockers, larger than most I've seen in hostels. The rooms were very clean and there were power outlets on every bed which is a must. However I was quite disappointed that free Wi-Fi wasn't included (or didn't seem included), unlike at the YHA next door and at many (most) other hostels.
  • 83%
  • 26 Feb 2016 Yann Canada
  • Excellent location, right in the center of Sydney, easy to get around. However, it's a bit far walk to the opera house area but you can take buses or trains, very easy. I loved the bed and pillow, very comfortable and I slept well like my own bed. The staffs are extremely friendly and helpful. They offered programs I attended city tour on my first day there and it's free! I have met new friends there as well. They also helped me organize the tour. The bathroom is cleaned and not so busy.
  • 91%
  • 26 Feb 2016 Piyathida Thailand
  • Ryan at the front desk went above and beyond to accommodate myself and my partner He was so friendly and did some things for us beyond his job description to make sure we were Taken care of. I would definitely reccomend wake up to anyone traveling here! Thank you Ry guy!! :) The hostel itself was clean and welcoming, the employees were all friendly and it was a great atmosphere! There was something going on for the backpackers every night at the hostel!
  • 100%
  • 25 Feb 2016 Chanelle Canada
  • Pros: Clean, very secure, super great staff. Great location. Roy's Bistro is pretty fantastic (but maybe post some hours for it somewhere?). Despite cons below, I'd recommend this place. Cons: Mattresses are horrible (my back hurt the entire time I was there -- 10 days). The dystopian P.A. system waking people up for goings on made me want to snip some wires (I didn't). Lots of emphasis on Side Bar, which as a 32 yr old gay man was meh. Bikini contests? Let's not objectify women, please.
  • 91%
  • 15 Feb 2016 Thomas USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »