See other Rio de Janeiro properties

Walk On The Beach Hostel

Rua Dias da Rocha 85, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Distance from city centre: 9.1km

Rating: 91% from 11 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 100%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 100%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved my time at Walk on the Beach hostel! Great location a few blocks from the beach, friendly and helpful staff and a great hostel bar to relax with fellow travelers. The hostel felt safe and was cleaned daily. I would definitely recommend staying here.
  • 100%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Kristen USA
  • We had a nice stay at Walk On The Beach! It was a small hostel with good atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. Could rekomend it!
  • 97%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • The location of this hostel is fantastic. It is 5 minutes walk from Copacabana Beach and is safe at all times of the day. There are lots of shops around for food, souvenir shopping and medical stuff. The rooms are a bit small and have three tiered bunk beds but the beds are comfy enough to sleep on. The hostel can get you some great things like city tour and hang gliding. Definitely check out the Favella Funk Party if you're there on Sunday nights!
  • 91%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Munib Canada
  • Staff was very friendly and helpful! Hostel itself needs to fixing, rooms are tight and lockers are small. Lots of trust is needed because likely your bag will be just in your dorm. Bathrooms are tiny and showers are cold (however, with it being +30 C outside a cold shower isn't always bad). Overall I had a great stay at Walk on the Beach and met a lot of great people while I was there! :)
  • 80%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Deidra Canada
  • The staff is adorable as they help you with all problems/questions and provide you with tons of information about Rio and possible activities in this exciting city. Probably the best (free) breakfast I had so far in a Hostel! It is a rather small Hostel with insignificantly higher prices, but with it's superb location, it's great atmosphere and the super cool staff, the "Walk on the beach" is a definite recommendation for all Rio visitors. I had a great time here, thanks! Dorian from Berlin
  • 89%
  • 19 May 2014 Dorian Germany
  • Os armários foram pequena e tomou fechaduras muito específicos, que o albergue não tinha. I muito mais desfrutar albergues onde posso trancar todas as minhas coisas. Além disso, você só tem uma folha fina de um cobertor, e eu tive sorte que demos um cobertor térmico junto.
  • 83%
  • 11 May 2014 Melanie Canada
  • Very close to the beach, markets, restaurants and so on. staffs are So friendly, smiling and helpful. Bathrooms and rooms were clean. I had great time in this hostel and for sure next time I will stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 06 May 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • Totally recommend it, friendly staff, nice location, good people around. It wasnt so far from main street even at night, I felt safe. Cause some hostels are located in on the hills or far from main road. VALUE FOR MONEY
  • 97%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The hostel experience was fine. The bathrooms upstairs are small so that it makes difficult to feel comfortable inside. Bedrooms may have more power points. Staff is great and in a good mood except for a lady at the kitchen that looks you really bad when you take each piece of cake or bread. She was really rude. ALL other staff members are really excellent, helpful and well educated. Breakfast could be improved. It could have more varied fruit than sole and only water melon and the juice too.
  • 83%
  • 06 Dec 2013 Anonymous Chile
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »