See other Rio de Janeiro properties

Walk On The Beach Hostel

Rua Dias da Rocha 85, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Distance from city centre: 9.1km

Rating: 91% from 11 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 100%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 100%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff was very friendly and helpful! Hostel itself needs to fixing, rooms are tight and lockers are small. Lots of trust is needed because likely your bag will be just in your dorm. Bathrooms are tiny and showers are cold (however, with it being +30 C outside a cold shower isn't always bad). Overall I had a great stay at Walk on the Beach and met a lot of great people while I was there! :)
  • 80%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Deidra Canada
  • The staff is adorable as they help you with all problems/questions and provide you with tons of information about Rio and possible activities in this exciting city. Probably the best (free) breakfast I had so far in a Hostel! It is a rather small Hostel with insignificantly higher prices, but with it's superb location, it's great atmosphere and the super cool staff, the "Walk on the beach" is a definite recommendation for all Rio visitors. I had a great time here, thanks! Dorian from Berlin
  • 89%
  • 19 May 2014 Dorian Germany
  • Os armários foram pequena e tomou fechaduras muito específicos, que o albergue não tinha. I muito mais desfrutar albergues onde posso trancar todas as minhas coisas. Além disso, você só tem uma folha fina de um cobertor, e eu tive sorte que demos um cobertor térmico junto.
  • 83%
  • 11 May 2014 Melanie Canada
  • Very close to the beach, markets, restaurants and so on. staffs are So friendly, smiling and helpful. Bathrooms and rooms were clean. I had great time in this hostel and for sure next time I will stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 06 May 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • Totally recommend it, friendly staff, nice location, good people around. It wasnt so far from main street even at night, I felt safe. Cause some hostels are located in on the hills or far from main road. VALUE FOR MONEY
  • 97%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The hostel experience was fine. The bathrooms upstairs are small so that it makes difficult to feel comfortable inside. Bedrooms may have more power points. Staff is great and in a good mood except for a lady at the kitchen that looks you really bad when you take each piece of cake or bread. She was really rude. ALL other staff members are really excellent, helpful and well educated. Breakfast could be improved. It could have more varied fruit than sole and only water melon and the juice too.
  • 83%
  • 06 Dec 2013 Anonymous Chile
  • Great location, comfy beds, and friendly staff that make you feel right at home among friends. Will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Rio.
  • 97%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Joshua USA
  • The staff are very helpful and so friendly if you've just arrived and your alone then introduce you to everyone! It's a really gem in rio. Staff gave the best advice ans wond stay behind in the bar with guest having a good time. Best place for women solo travels and best place to meet people. Also hostel is very close to copacabana beach!
  • 91%
  • 09 Oct 2013 Anonymous England
  • Amazing hostel! The staff is very friendly and helpfull. A lot of nice people in the hostel, and it's easy to meet them, because of the bar in the hostel (with a nice bartender and good caipirinha's!). The location is perfect, near to copacobana beach. I had a great time!
  • 97%
  • 25 Sep 2013 Anonymous Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »