See other Washington DC properties

Washington DC House

506 H Street NE, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 3km

Rating: 87% from 37 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My friend and I were looking for a hotel and everything was so expensive, so I was very happy when I found this hostel - we got a 2-bed dorm to ourselves, so our own room for a fraction of a hotel cost in the area. We were barely there, only for sleeping so I can't comment on most things, but we were happy with the experience. A 10-min walk from Union Station through some nice neighborhood areas.
  • 80%
  • 19 May 2015 Carolyn USA
  • The staff here are absolutely world class! Best of any hostel I've stayed in, they were like family
  • 94%
  • 14 May 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Fun and friendly staff
  • 97%
  • 04 May 2015 Andrew
  • the people who work there are all very nice and helpfull and there even was a happy hour and after that one of the workers took us after his shift on a bar tour --> very cool Ill be back :D
  • 86%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Pleasant surprise...this is a great residential neighborhood with big grocery 1 blk away and upscale dining on same block, even ethnic cafes. The rotating staff is highly educated and personable. Met for happy hour and went on a group walking tour first eve and that was FUN--thanks to Caroline! The front living room is welcoming and homey, you'll feel at home. It wasn't full so it could be crowded if full, but my stay was perfect. Take ear-plugs in case you are in a front room above street.
  • 94%
  • 24 Mar 2015 kerry USA
  • Great atmosphere, great location – and to top it off, extremely clean! I couldn't imagine a better place for my stay in DC. The staff (with a shout-out to Jude in particular!) made me feel very welcome and as if I was at a home away from home.
  • 97%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Cameron USA
  • The beds are so severely uncomfortable that it ruined my perception of this hostel. Even though many other features are great - it's got a great kitchen and social room, the location is good, and the staff are organized and friendly - nothing compensates for a poor night sleep because you can feel the wooden bed frame beneath an extremely thin and old mattress. I tried to put a towel under my hip to soften the frame, but that's not what patrons should have to do for comfort.
  • 63%
  • 12 Mar 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The best hostel. From 8-9 every day, there will be a happy hour. You can drink as much as you want. And super friendly staff, great atmosphere. Just go to this hostel when you visit DC
  • 100%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Lovely hostel with a big common area. They organize activities (game nights et cetera) and are in a good location. Friendly staff!
  • 83%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Fien Netherlands
  • Once again, I had a great stay! :) Love the Happy Hour ;)
  • 94%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »