See other Washington DC properties

Washington DC House

506 H Street NE, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 78% from 19 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had an absolutely wonderful experience here. Although I stayed only one night, all staff were helpful, friendly, welcoming, and fun - I'm sure I would have had more positive things to say about this hostel if I had stayed longer. It is at a very convenient location, the place is kept clean and has free coffee! They have daily social events for their guests too.
  • 97%
  • 13 Jan 2017 Anonymous Japan
  • I over paid money. The staff said that my booking fee will be not working, so I paid all accommodation fee when I arrived there. However, I checked my credit card and I realized that my booking fee was not cancelled, so I paid total 110% of the accommodation fee. If you check this, you should contact me.
  • 69%
  • 19 Nov 2016 Yunjeong
  • Manager bent over backwards to accommodate unusual request. Very pleased.
  • 89%
  • 22 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great stay, the hostel is very cozy and you feel right at home. I LOVED the kitchen and the bathrooms were also big and well-kept. I liked the social events calendar and the fact that the staff was so approachable. I noticed one of the staff members had smoked weed while I was there which I thought was very unprofessional. I did not appreciate all the automatic air fresheners, it made the place smell like a bad Yankee Candle. Maybe try some fresher scents ;) But overall, very good job!
  • 91%
  • 01 Oct 2016 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The staff is very helpful with information about the local area and the hostel facility. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Overall good stay at the Washington DC House hostel.
  • 97%
  • 12 Aug 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I was refused because I reside in the State of Maryland. I explained that I lived 75 miles from Washington DC and they still refused to admit me and I had to seek another location.
  • 20%
  • 31 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I have never before in my life (I'm 69) felt unprovoked anger & discrimination against me as we check in as I did not have the "correct" paperwork, although we had a reservation for months and even put money down. He literally pushed my grandson and I back out the door, became enraged, refused to help us locate other accommodation and saying NO! and locked the door as we stood in the street dumbfounded. His eyes were dilated and a mean streak prevailed. He said he was in charge. John
  • 34%
  • 26 May 2016 John USA
  • Very good
  • 100%
  • 05 May 2016 alcimar Brazil
  • very nice
  • 100%
  • 18 Apr 2016 jian min China
  • This hostel was such a great place to stay while exploring DC. The location is excellent with union station for access to the metro close by and currently a streetcar that has a station right out front of the place. There are plenty of restaurants and shops close by and a grocery store a few blocks away. We did not socialize too often with others staying because we were out so much of the day, but when we were everyone staying and staff were so nice and the hostel has a very warm atmosphere.
  • 89%
  • 03 Apr 2016 Michelle USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »