See other Washington DC properties

Washington DC House

506 H Street NE, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 86% from 27 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff is very helpful with information about the local area and the hostel facility. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Overall good stay at the Washington DC House hostel.
  • 97%
  • 12 Aug 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I was refused because I reside in the State of Maryland. I explained that I lived 75 miles from Washington DC and they still refused to admit me and I had to seek another location.
  • 20%
  • 31 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I have never before in my life (I'm 69) felt unprovoked anger & discrimination against me as we check in as I did not have the "correct" paperwork, although we had a reservation for months and even put money down. He literally pushed my grandson and I back out the door, became enraged, refused to help us locate other accommodation and saying NO! and locked the door as we stood in the street dumbfounded. His eyes were dilated and a mean streak prevailed. He said he was in charge. John
  • 34%
  • 26 May 2016 John USA
  • Very good
  • 100%
  • 05 May 2016 alcimar Brazil
  • very nice
  • 100%
  • 18 Apr 2016 jian min China
  • This hostel was such a great place to stay while exploring DC. The location is excellent with union station for access to the metro close by and currently a streetcar that has a station right out front of the place. There are plenty of restaurants and shops close by and a grocery store a few blocks away. We did not socialize too often with others staying because we were out so much of the day, but when we were everyone staying and staff were so nice and the hostel has a very warm atmosphere.
  • 89%
  • 03 Apr 2016 Michelle USA
  • The staff was amazing, the hostel truly felt like home. It was great to meet other people in the common area and I loved the activities they had planned during the night and day. It was lovely of them to allow us to leave our stuff for the day before our bus was due to arrive. It was one of the best hostel experiences I have ever had. I only wish they had locks on the actual rooms. They have a pin-pad to get upstairs but no locks on the bedroom doors.
  • 94%
  • 15 Feb 2016 Courtney USA
  • Nice job with the living room! Staff are nice and friendly. People staying here respect each other. I got to play the xbox and watch netflix. i felt like home.
  • 100%
  • 13 Jan 2016 Anonymous Rwanda
  • A bit of a walk from Union Station Metro--I expect it will be more convenient when the light rail street cars go operational. Friendly staff, good atmosphere, clean rooms and bathrooms. Shared kitchen and living spaces were good. Helpful policies to ensure cooperation among guests (e.g. labeling food in fridge). Minor plumbing issue in bathroom while I was there. Wish there were single/double rooms!
  • 91%
  • 07 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Very cosy family-like atmosphere! The Staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice kitchen and living room. Events every day and night, plus Happy Hour with a free drinks every evening. The rooms and bathrooms can get a quite cold during night though (stayed there over new years week and had to ask for an additional blanket). Located not far from Union Station and in walking distance to the Capitol and the National Mall (ca. 15 min). Cameras in all common areas.
  • 86%
  • 27 Dec 2015 Maximilian Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »