See other Washington DC properties

Washington International Student Center

2451 18th Street NW, DC 20009, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 72% from 18 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • You pay for what you get. It's for students on a budget and don't mind having just a minimal place to stay. Staff are down to earth and provide you with info you need well. Overall a pleasant stay.
  • 69%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Calvin Singapore
  • Pros: Great location, staff, and overall value Cons: Squeaky bunk beds (bring ear plugs!) and wi-fi disruptions
  • 86%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Hyder USA
  • The owner is too sarcastic for my taste, the Asian-looking girl was cold and another employee had no manners (burps, farts) although he was friendly. The only person I liked was a South African (?) woman. They have heating problems (too much AND too little), and the dishes are dirty, although previous tenants are to blame since THEY are supposed to clean. The location is good but is a little hard to find (no signs). I had fun talking with a French,
  • 69%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Pierre-Guy Canada
  • This place is very old and in desperate need of a facelift. They are in a nice area of DC, Adams Morgan. It has a strange layout, but is not inviting. The check in area is combined with the tv lounge. Its awkward to say the least. The room that I was in was a 6 bed dorm, but is way too small. There are no lockers available to secure any of your belongings and just some spaces here and there in the room to place your luggage. The bathroom was also disappointing. The mirror is rusting.
  • 66%
  • 07 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The personnel is very kind: I arrived very late (11.30 PM) because of a problem with the bus and they still waited for me and kept vey kind. The neightborhood is very lively and fun. It is easy to make friends in the hostel and compared to others in other cities it has a very good quality/price ratio. I planned to stay there nly for 2 days, but I decided to extend my stay there for two additional nights. Satisfied
  • 83%
  • 05 Aug 2013 Matteo Italy
  • very good hostel, great location. fun to chill out while seeing all the sites, and a great location in adams morgan. slightly lacking in terms of social scene but its a hostel, so its always going to be driven by those staying there. staff are all friendly and love to have a chat and share experiences and ideas. slightly dirty in places but its a hostel, everything is washed and cleaned multiple times daily. would stay again/10
  • 80%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Jack Australia
  • I have always been turned away when I go to this particular hostel in Adams Morgan. I actually had a reservation and the guy put me in this filthy room. I got back later that night and tried to get in the room. The key was not opening the door for nothing. needless to say it ruined my stay and I was terribly broken rested from being locked out the room and nobody let me in... smh. I slept in a chair.
  • 54%
  • 01 Jul 2013 Janine USA
  • terrible..Poor..Dirty...
  • 37%
  • 01 Jul 2013 Svetlana Russia
  • Well located, friendly staff. The room in which I stayed was very disorganized and not very clean, but this wasn't the hostels fault. The guests seem to be living there (hate that type of rooms) the bathrooms are very old and not clean, that could definitely improve. The kitchen wasn't very nice, but I appreciated the breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. For a night it was fine and the place where is located is very nice, full of bars, restaurants, etc.
  • 74%
  • 04 Jun 2013 Anonymous Guatemala
  • This place is always a favorite.
  • 94%
  • 25 May 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »