See other Washington DC properties

Washington International Student Center

2451 18th Street NW, DC 20009, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 66% from 10 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 64%Staff
  • 66%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 56%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed there for 2 nights, and really it was nice !!! This hostel are perfect for staying few days, and it's very family, meet people... And also I wanna say for somebody who's coming with their own car, Steven helped me so much to save money for it, and I really paid nothing for the parking during my trip !!! I Thank him so much for it!!! And it's a perfect location for going in the city with bus just up! Really Thx guys for everything's !
  • 91%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Laura France
  • This was a pretty bare bones facility. Nothing wrong with it, per se. Just average. Comfortable. What hostels used to be before they all turned into hotels with shared rooms. Bring cash! They don't take cards (and the ATM in the common room charges a lot).
  • 74%
  • 07 Aug 2014 benjamin
  • The details on this hostel say there is a parking pass for people who come with cars but when I got there one of the employees rudely told me that there was only one parking pass and someone else already had it so I need to just deal with it and find parking in the neighborhood on the street which was extremely difficult as it is a very crowded area filled with students. They really need to change this part on the website. I definitely wouldn't go to this hostel if you have a car.
  • 63%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Manuel USA
  • They only take cash, and that is very inconvenient, I had lost my debit card in the earlier part of my trip, and went through a lot of inconveniences just to pay for the hostel. At this day and age, they should take credit.
  • 31%
  • 30 May 2014 Jorge
  • My sister and I had a wonderful stay at Washington International Student Center -- it was JUST what we were looking for. **Awesome** location in the heart of Adams Morgan, which is a great neighborhood for going out. The staff were all very kind to us and competent. We really appreciated their help checking us in and out. A great value!
  • 86%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Alayna USA
  • You pay for what you get. It's for students on a budget and don't mind having just a minimal place to stay. Staff are down to earth and provide you with info you need well. Overall a pleasant stay.
  • 69%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Calvin Singapore
  • Pros: Great location, staff, and overall value Cons: Squeaky bunk beds (bring ear plugs!) and wi-fi disruptions
  • 86%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Hyder USA
  • The owner is too sarcastic for my taste, the Asian-looking girl was cold and another employee had no manners (burps, farts) although he was friendly. The only person I liked was a South African (?) woman. They have heating problems (too much AND too little), and the dishes are dirty, although previous tenants are to blame since THEY are supposed to clean. The location is good but is a little hard to find (no signs). I had fun talking with a French,
  • 69%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Pierre-Guy Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »