See other Washington DC properties

Washington International Student Center

2451 18th Street NW, DC 20009, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 73% from 24 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 70%Staff
  • 67%Security
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is awesome. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, you get everything you need WITHOUT any additional charge. Location is great: 10-15 min walk from metro station, and there's a bus stop 20meters from the hostel. Great food around the area. Make sure you try the Amsterdam falafel as the food is absolutely awesome!!!!
  • 94%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Si Long
  • The host is super nice and the hostel is excellent. Safe and clean, close to attractions. Good stay :)
  • 100%
  • 09 Apr 2015 Cheryl Hong Kong
  • I had a great stay at the International Student Center. It's cheap, the staff is friendly and location is really good ! I definitely can recommend it !
  • 100%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Oliver Germany
  • We had a great time at WISC. On first day, a helpful guy help us carried three 50 pound luggages up to the 1st floor by stair. The dedicated owner know three of us want to stay together for three nights in the center, he rather let us stay in private room for first 2 nights as mixed dorm is occupied. A cool girl named Lu bring us around DC interest place & on last day, she help us until the nearby bus station stop. Really highly appreciated for that.
  • 94%
  • 01 Apr 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • I've stayed here 5-6 times in 2-3 years. I work in the city, but commute from another city; I stay in a hostel if I need to stay over, for social reasons or work. I love this location in the middle of Adams Morgan, close to everything. Cheap. Not fancy, but fine.Steve, the owner, is a good guy. He likes to deal in cash, but flexible. Never screwed me; keeps his word. This time he gave me a private room for dorm price. He has an off-beat sense of humor, but so what? I don't sweat the small stuff.
  • 74%
  • 12 Feb 2015 Steven USA
  • A little bit small and not the cleanest hostel, but I enjoyed my stay. Nice people, good location, not bad for the price.
  • 69%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Timothy Australia
  • Really bad! Many noise during the night, the rooms are tiny, the bed aren't confortable, the breakfast was old, stay away, you can find better hostel
  • 23%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Sandra Patricia Colombia
  • The hostel is located in the Adams Morgan, a best location for someone who enjoys great nightlife in DC and close to anything that's chill and cool. If you don't want to spend too much in lodging and still want to be close to all those, this is a good place to be. Just be sure that you don't mind sharing room with other people whenever choosing a hostel. I also find the staff in the place quite relaxed and helpful.
  • 83%
  • 03 Dec 2014 JING China
  • The location is great, bars (from my room, I never heard any noise from the bars outside) and places with all kinds of food are right there and public transport is quite close. In terms of services, we were provided with sheets and towels, the bathroom was alright, our room was warm enough. No locker room, so make sure that you take your valuables with you. Internet is free, but in some places it works better than in others.The place is modest, but very affordable.
  • 80%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Svetlana Russia
  • Absolutely do not stay here. It has the feel of a homeless shelter, not a youth hostel. It even has a semi homeless guy living in one of the rooms.
  • 34%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »