See other Washington DC properties

Washington International Student Center

2451 18th Street NW, DC 20009, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 69% from 20 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 64%Staff
  • 62%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I've stayed here 5-6 times in 2-3 years. I work in the city, but commute from another city; I stay in a hostel if I need to stay over, for social reasons or work. I love this location in the middle of Adams Morgan, close to everything. Cheap. Not fancy, but fine.Steve, the owner, is a good guy. He likes to deal in cash, but flexible. Never screwed me; keeps his word. This time he gave me a private room for dorm price. He has an off-beat sense of humor, but so what? I don't sweat the small stuff.
  • 74%
  • 12 Feb 2015 Steven USA
  • A little bit small and not the cleanest hostel, but I enjoyed my stay. Nice people, good location, not bad for the price.
  • 69%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Timothy Australia
  • Really bad! Many noise during the night, the rooms are tiny, the bed aren't confortable, the breakfast was old, stay away, you can find better hostel
  • 23%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Sandra Patricia Colombia
  • The hostel is located in the Adams Morgan, a best location for someone who enjoys great nightlife in DC and close to anything that's chill and cool. If you don't want to spend too much in lodging and still want to be close to all those, this is a good place to be. Just be sure that you don't mind sharing room with other people whenever choosing a hostel. I also find the staff in the place quite relaxed and helpful.
  • 83%
  • 03 Dec 2014 JING China
  • The location is great, bars (from my room, I never heard any noise from the bars outside) and places with all kinds of food are right there and public transport is quite close. In terms of services, we were provided with sheets and towels, the bathroom was alright, our room was warm enough. No locker room, so make sure that you take your valuables with you. Internet is free, but in some places it works better than in others.The place is modest, but very affordable.
  • 80%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Svetlana Russia
  • Absolutely do not stay here. It has the feel of a homeless shelter, not a youth hostel. It even has a semi homeless guy living in one of the rooms.
  • 34%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Place was very simple and plain, but for the price it was excellent. The worst part was the owner, who was not very friendly, seemed strange, and was a creep to one of our female colleagues. He was unprofessional and treated us like an annoyance. His employees were all very nice and professional though. That being said, it was completely worth it for the price and the location--I would recommend it if you are on a budget.
  • 63%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I loved staying there. I recommend:)
  • 91%
  • 18 Nov 2014 Vanessa Brazil
  • Staff is very friendly. Awesome cost/benefit. Awesome location if you want a busy nightlife. If not, make sure you bring earplugs.
  • 69%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • This is a great place, I met some great people there who helped me. Hosts are very friendly guys and the breakfast was delicious.
  • 100%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Kamil Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »