See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 77% from 54 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Most of the staff were extremely rude from the second we got there except for one helpful man named Kevin. The advertisements on the website don't look anything like the rooms we were given and it felt like a prison. There was no washer and dryer or kitchen and the place is huge and they could fit one. The rooms are horribly outdated and not cleaned properly. The powerpoints were hanging out of the wall which is clearly a health and safety issue.
  • 54%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I loved staying at the YMCA! excellent location and price. It's now my official place to stay at NY.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • My first time at a hostel and I'm impressed. The room was clean and the bathrooms too, most of the time. The staff was friendly and helpful, we needed more blankets at 11 pm and they quickly provided it.
  • 83%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Janaina USA
  • Without a doubt, I will return here in the future as first and foremost, location is important for proximity to public transportation, being only steps away from the subway, buses and taxis. Secondly, Central Park South is only steps away to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. The facility itself is not lacking in equipment and programs designed for the fitness buff, a helpful and friendly staff throughout helps ensure the first timer or repeat guest have the best experience possible.
  • 91%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Wayne USA
  • The maid never made up my bed and I didn't know why until 5 days into my 7 day stay when a note was left on my bed saying I needed to remove personal items from the bed so they could make the bed. There was only my pillow and a pair of headphones that could easily have been moved. Anyway, I emoted everything of mine and then it didn't get made again on Day 6. So I never had clean sheets or a made bed.
  • 80%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Location was great for what we needed. However some money was left in our room during the day while we were out, and it was taken when we returned. Bathroom facilities were good, often experienced no soap or paper towels though. Staff at front desk were friendly. Cafe was handy.
  • 71%
  • 08 Jun 2015 Vanessa New Zealand
  • Dealt with bed bugs and took me 4 days to speak to the corporate office to be fully refunded. I do not recommend staying here. Unless you are very persistent in getting fair service, this will be a waste of your time and money.
  • 46%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The location can't be beat. It's kept very clean and beds are made every day. Two problems: my bed was old. I felt the spring in mine and in my room the AC was too weark. The shared bathroom thing was a bit hard for me, but other than that I can't think of a better choice for Manhattan on a tight budget. The staff is friendly and the other guests are respectable. It's a not at all sleazy.
  • 89%
  • 26 May 2015 Carol USA
  • Great location... perfect starting destination for any sight seeing trips.
  • 74%
  • 23 May 2015 Wren Canada
  • Wifi only works at the main lobby downstairs. Major drawback. Gyms and pools are great!
  • 71%
  • 02 May 2015 Juhani Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »