See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 75% from 60 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's located at the West side of Central Park in a very safe area for walking at night even to or from the subway train (metro). The customer services are bad because they know that the hostel is at the best location. The room is very old and not clean. It's very basic and the management just does not care. They know that tourists who are on budget will book room at the hostel because they want to be in the center part of the city at an affordable rate. No hair dryer. Heater cannot be controlled
  • 57%
  • 10 Apr 2015 DERECK USA
  • My son and I arrived very late at night (actually, in the wee hours of the morning). The guard at the front desk was kind and helpful. The window in our room was left wide open (in March!). I was able to close it, but the seal was not the greatest. Nevertheless, the heat was enough to keep us warm. The bathroom lacked paper towels and the toilet I used wouldn't flush. Hot water (at 2am) was short-lived in the shower. Still it was an economical way to catch some sleep.
  • 77%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Really appreciated being able to check in early since my bus got in ahead of schedule. I had told Housekeeping that I did not need service on Thursday since I was doing some paperwork when they came by. However, they did not come by on Friday to change towels and empty the trash. Could have been a misunderstanding and they thought I meant I would never need service. It was not really a big deal so I did not bother to report it to the Front Desk. Loved having use of the gym
  • 80%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Richard USA
  • If you are planning a trip to NYC with limited time to stay at your accomodation place, YMCA is perfect! We got a private room with a bunkbed, a desk, tv, and a small closet. Not big at all, but then we only spent our sleep hours here. The shared bathrooms on each floor are kept very clean, and everything works perfectly. The location of the hostel was the best: right outside is the entrance to Central Park, only a block down is the subway, and on the street you'll find food and shopping :)
  • 83%
  • 22 Feb 2015 Sandra Norway
  • I likes the prive cleanliness and location. I'd recomend to put trash cans In the ladies washroom
  • 97%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Cinthia Mexico
  • Can't beat the location. TV signal weak so hard to watch tv but not a big deal. Great to be able to work out and swim.
  • 80%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Richard USA
  • Gym is great.
  • 77%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • I didn't spend much time in the room but it was perfect for my budget and the location was awesome. I am a student and don't mind the cheapness of this place. It's right next to Central Park and other cool attractions.
  • 77%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Location is second to none, but not ideal to meet people with only 1-2 bed private rooms.. The rooms were small but sufficient (only 1 outlet per room though). The bathrooms were clean and the showers worked very well. My bed was super uncomfortable and the pillow was flat as a pancake. Had to check in at the front desk when arriving which was nice to know random people would not be wandering in Overall: huge plus on location, good security, everything else was average/below average
  • 69%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Erica
  • My room smelled like dirty underpants. I had to buy a room deodorizer which helped a little
  • 74%
  • 02 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »