See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 70% from 66 reviews

  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location is second to none, but not ideal to meet people with only 1-2 bed private rooms.. The rooms were small but sufficient (only 1 outlet per room though). The bathrooms were clean and the showers worked very well. My bed was super uncomfortable and the pillow was flat as a pancake. Had to check in at the front desk when arriving which was nice to know random people would not be wandering in Overall: huge plus on location, good security, everything else was average/below average
  • 69%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Erica
  • My room smelled like dirty underpants. I had to buy a room deodorizer which helped a little
  • 74%
  • 02 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Room was called deluxe but I wonder what that consists of.
  • 71%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Peter Netherlands
  • Very good located!
  • 83%
  • 21 Nov 2014 FELIPE Brazil
  • My room was ready when I arrived early so I was able to check in at about 1:00. Front Desk clerk was very pleasant and efficient. Enjoyed using the workout facilities. Great location convenient to subway; I would definitely stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 18 Nov 2014 Richard USA
  • The rooms were okay for the price you pay to stay in New York City. But the shared facilities - restrooms/showers - were nasty. Some of the other guests can be very disgusting, no personal hygiene whatsoever. It's like taking a shower in really bad gym. Location was great, right next to Central Park, close to the subway, and lots of good places to shop and eat.
  • 66%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Richard USA
  • There was one thin blanket on the bed; I checked the closet & there wasn't another. My TV remote didn't work.
  • 89%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Ronald USA
  • Great location; close to subway, Central Park and Lincoln Center
  • 83%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • OUTSTANDING VERY HISTORIC PAST GUESTS e.g. Mickey Rooney and Judy Garland RIGHT ON CENTRAL PARK WEST BY LINCOLN CENTER AND COLUMBUS CIRCLE A GREAT DEAL!!
  • 100%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was a great place to stay on a budget!
  • 91%
  • 21 Aug 2014 David USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »