See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 71% from 88 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The room was small, but clean and as we were out all day - exactly what we needed. The location is brilliant - across the road from Central Park and very close to the subways. Little shop had everything we needed and wi-fi in the room. Was very impressed !
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Erika South Africa
  • Basic rooms and amenities, but really good exercise facilities. A few oddities. Automatic lights in some rooms come on in the middle of the night and won't stay off. No soap dish in newly renovated showers. Sometimes only get 1 soap for multi day stay. Prices just went up.
  • 80%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The bathrooms vary greatly from floor to floor. Some floors have individual bathrooms entered with the room key. Those are safe, not smelly, and usually clean. Some floors have one shared bathroom for men, and one for women. The women's rest room is entered with the key card. The men's rest room is open to all. On the ninth floor one of the three showers is not functioning. It was also not functioning two years ago. The urinals smell terrible. Consistency should be the goal.
  • 80%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic location. Staff were friendly and efficient. Great to have access to work out facilities while on vacation. The remote control for my TV did not work. I got fresh batteries and it still did not work but I did not pursue getting it replaced since I was not planning to watch a lot of TV. .
  • 86%
  • 15 Jun 2014 Richard USA
  • If you are looking for a no-frills place, try the Y.
  • 80%
  • 14 Jun 2014 Joan USA
  • We had a very good experience at the YMCA. It's not luxurious obviously but it is decent and well maintained.
  • 77%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Maria Argentina
  • An unforgettable stay! I spent two nights at the YMCA hostel in New York (room 947). The rooms was more or less ok, although I had to kill a couple of bedbug on the first night. At my back home three days later I had 202 bud bites on my body...Yes I counted them! Never more, one week under medication for the bites, and wondering if I am going to sue the hostel. Are you thinking of traveling to NYC? Run from the YMCA hostel!! It is for your best, believe me.
  • 43%
  • 31 May 2014 Mario Spain
  • The bathrooms are really poor with no shower facilities. Showers, yes. Nothing else.....
  • 69%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I stayed on a Twin Ensuite Bedroom for 2 nights, during May 2014. The room had a litter, a desk with shelves, a chair, and a space allocated to place the luggage. Although small, two persons could sleep there without problems. The room was clean when we got there and housekeeping was done for the following day. The bathrooms are shared but were in good conditions and had hot water. For ~$60 USD I'd suggest to get a bigger room and more confortable beds. The price is "fair" for what you get.
  • 80%
  • 17 May 2014 Sergio Mexico
  • West side Ymca is a very good place for stay. The room is small, but clean. The bathroom are shared, but was always clean, and the location is fantastic. El albergue tiene una muy buena ubicación, la habitación era pequeña pero muy limpia. Los baños son compartidos, pero siempre estaban limpios.
  • 86%
  • 13 May 2014 carolina Chile
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »