See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 74% from 64 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My son and I arrived very late at night (actually, in the wee hours of the morning). The guard at the front desk was kind and helpful. The window in our room was left wide open (in March!). I was able to close it, but the seal was not the greatest. Nevertheless, the heat was enough to keep us warm. The bathroom lacked paper towels and the toilet I used wouldn't flush. Hot water (at 2am) was short-lived in the shower. Still it was an economical way to catch some sleep.
  • 77%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I likes the prive cleanliness and location. I'd recomend to put trash cans In the ladies washroom
  • 97%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Cinthia Mexico
  • Can't beat the location. TV signal weak so hard to watch tv but not a big deal. Great to be able to work out and swim.
  • 80%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Richard USA
  • Gym is great.
  • 77%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • I didn't spend much time in the room but it was perfect for my budget and the location was awesome. I am a student and don't mind the cheapness of this place. It's right next to Central Park and other cool attractions.
  • 77%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Location is second to none, but not ideal to meet people with only 1-2 bed private rooms.. The rooms were small but sufficient (only 1 outlet per room though). The bathrooms were clean and the showers worked very well. My bed was super uncomfortable and the pillow was flat as a pancake. Had to check in at the front desk when arriving which was nice to know random people would not be wandering in Overall: huge plus on location, good security, everything else was average/below average
  • 69%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Erica
  • My room smelled like dirty underpants. I had to buy a room deodorizer which helped a little
  • 74%
  • 02 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Room was called deluxe but I wonder what that consists of.
  • 71%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Peter Netherlands
  • Very good located!
  • 83%
  • 21 Nov 2014 FELIPE Brazil
  • My room was ready when I arrived early so I was able to check in at about 1:00. Front Desk clerk was very pleasant and efficient. Enjoyed using the workout facilities. Great location convenient to subway; I would definitely stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 18 Nov 2014 Richard USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Most of us love to see the back of winter, and welcome the warmth of Springtime sun. Check out these fab Spring festivals guaranteed to wake your body up for the rest of the ye...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »