See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 77% from 58 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Its a great option for young people
  • 74%
  • 20 Sep 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • The location is top notch. Our room wasn't the greatest. Fairly poor beds and power outlets that only worked with a lot of will power. The showers were very nice. But the price was low so all in all, everything balances out to great.
  • 77%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Thomas Sweden
  • Perfect, if you are looking for a place with great location this is it. The beds are just okay, shared bathrooms are very clean. Very good experience
  • 94%
  • 12 Aug 2015 sebastian Chile
  • The room which we had was excellent since it was clean and only for the two of us. However the bathroom facilities were not as pleasant as the room itself. In the showers there were usually lot of hair and the showers didn't work properly. It would also desirable to have more space in the bathroom where you can put your cloth and bathroom articles on it.
  • 77%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Nadine Switzerland
  • The YMCA's location is excellent. One block from Lincoln Center, one block from Central Park, and on block from 3 subway lines. The room is a basic dorm room and you should not plan to do anything in the room other than sleep. That said in term of value for money the location is excellent.
  • 77%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Mark K. USA
  • Bon rapport qualité / prix même si les salles de bain communes ne sont pas très pratiques (pas de porte manteaux pour accrocher les affaires, vitres transparentes…). Salle de bain homme pas très propre Assez vieux comme bâtiment Situé à côté de Lincoln Center et proche de l’entrée sud-ouest de Central Park. 15min à pied de Times Square. Good quality / price ratio even though the shared bathrooms are not very practical (no door to hang coats business, transparent panes ...). Men bathroom are no
  • 69%
  • 24 Jul 2015 MARLENE France
  • Most of the staff were extremely rude from the second we got there except for one helpful man named Kevin. The advertisements on the website don't look anything like the rooms we were given and it felt like a prison. There was no washer and dryer or kitchen and the place is huge and they could fit one. The rooms are horribly outdated and not cleaned properly. The powerpoints were hanging out of the wall which is clearly a health and safety issue.
  • 54%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I loved staying at the YMCA! excellent location and price. It's now my official place to stay at NY.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • My first time at a hostel and I'm impressed. The room was clean and the bathrooms too, most of the time. The staff was friendly and helpful, we needed more blankets at 11 pm and they quickly provided it.
  • 83%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Janaina USA
  • Without a doubt, I will return here in the future as first and foremost, location is important for proximity to public transportation, being only steps away from the subway, buses and taxis. Secondly, Central Park South is only steps away to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. The facility itself is not lacking in equipment and programs designed for the fitness buff, a helpful and friendly staff throughout helps ensure the first timer or repeat guest have the best experience possible.
  • 91%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Wayne USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »