See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 76% from 33 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • 1) Would be nice to have a place in the bathrooms/showers to put your toiletries/clothing 2) The beds smelled dank and left my clothes smelling musty 3) Wifi was terrible and ended up using data instead 4) TV in the room was a nice bonus 5) Gym was fantastic 6) Option have private bedroom was great (even if the bed was not ideal) 7) Key card for door was great security 8) Being right next to Central Park/Columbus Circle was lovely
  • 77%
  • 05 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice place to stay for poor money.
  • 83%
  • 09 Oct 2015 Mirja Germany
  • Best location in NYC!! Clean bathrooms, but not excellent wifi.
  • 86%
  • 07 Oct 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • Its a great option for young people
  • 74%
  • 20 Sep 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • The location is top notch. Our room wasn't the greatest. Fairly poor beds and power outlets that only worked with a lot of will power. The showers were very nice. But the price was low so all in all, everything balances out to great.
  • 77%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Thomas Sweden
  • Perfect, if you are looking for a place with great location this is it. The beds are just okay, shared bathrooms are very clean. Very good experience
  • 94%
  • 12 Aug 2015 sebastian Chile
  • The room which we had was excellent since it was clean and only for the two of us. However the bathroom facilities were not as pleasant as the room itself. In the showers there were usually lot of hair and the showers didn't work properly. It would also desirable to have more space in the bathroom where you can put your cloth and bathroom articles on it.
  • 77%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Nadine Switzerland
  • The YMCA's location is excellent. One block from Lincoln Center, one block from Central Park, and on block from 3 subway lines. The room is a basic dorm room and you should not plan to do anything in the room other than sleep. That said in term of value for money the location is excellent.
  • 77%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Mark K. USA
  • Bon rapport qualité / prix même si les salles de bain communes ne sont pas très pratiques (pas de porte manteaux pour accrocher les affaires, vitres transparentes…). Salle de bain homme pas très propre Assez vieux comme bâtiment Situé à côté de Lincoln Center et proche de l’entrée sud-ouest de Central Park. 15min à pied de Times Square. Good quality / price ratio even though the shared bathrooms are not very practical (no door to hang coats business, transparent panes ...). Men bathroom are no
  • 69%
  • 24 Jul 2015 MARLENE France
  • Most of the staff were extremely rude from the second we got there except for one helpful man named Kevin. The advertisements on the website don't look anything like the rooms we were given and it felt like a prison. There was no washer and dryer or kitchen and the place is huge and they could fit one. The rooms are horribly outdated and not cleaned properly. The powerpoints were hanging out of the wall which is clearly a health and safety issue.
  • 54%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're looking for the weirdest things to do in New Orleans, with the smallest price tag, here's where you'll find them.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »