See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 71% from 101 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Simple and clean accommodations. Check-in clerk gave me the wrong room number, and forgot to give me the code for the women's bathroom.
  • 69%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Television not working properly; everything else was fine.
  • 71%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The location near Central Park is very convenient, but that's all that is interesting with this place. The room is very small, the building, the bathrooms, everything looks very old, not exactly like what we see on the pictures and cleanliness was dubious. We paid around 95 USD for one night for two guests, I am not sur that it was such a great deal for what we got. Quite disappointed.
  • 49%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Andonirina Madagascar
  • The shared bathroom and toilet was awful. not clean all the time, shower is not stable with the tempareture and no rack for the store belongings while taking shower.
  • 46%
  • 01 Jan 2014 shunsuke Japan
  • The woman at the desc told us that someone took our booking out of the system because they made too many people for new years eve. It's been pretty nice though she's been honest.The room we received than was dirty, didn't even have a curtain at the window, the mattresses were so old that there were large hollows (and I really mean deep large hollows) in the middle, we didn't get the code to the bathroom and all staff members that didn't work at the front desk would always say "no speak english".
  • 49%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Stefanie Germany
  • Wi-Fi/Internet was not working most of the time.
  • 66%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Peter Austria
  • Two excellent and generous people who were always in a good mood and help us a lot : Vanessa Sanchez from the staff and Francisca Infante from the management department. We highly recommend their services. On the contrary, stay away from Ramón from the staff and Lisa from the management department behind their smiles are two selfish people who does not care about the necessities, problems or any misunderstanding that a tourist (who does not speak English as a mother tongue) may have.
  • 57%
  • 29 Dec 2013 maria del carmen Argentina
  • O wifi demora muito para conectar, tiveram dias que mesmo com o aviso de arrumar o quarto ninguem arrumou, assim como nao passavam nem aspirador de po no quarto e acumulava o pó.
  • 74%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Fernanda Brazil
  • Very nice staff, but the beds are very uncomfortable and the bathrooms smelled like urine at all times and i would`t shower there either. Sorry!
  • 54%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Anonymous Norway
  • The location is perfect, near almost everything, but if you want a comfortable place to stay, this place is not for you. The price is right for the service offered.
  • 80%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »