See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 76% from 57 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My room smelled like dirty underpants. I had to buy a room deodorizer which helped a little
  • 74%
  • 02 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Room was called deluxe but I wonder what that consists of.
  • 71%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Peter Netherlands
  • Very good located!
  • 83%
  • 21 Nov 2014 FELIPE Brazil
  • My room was ready when I arrived early so I was able to check in at about 1:00. Front Desk clerk was very pleasant and efficient. Enjoyed using the workout facilities. Great location convenient to subway; I would definitely stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 18 Nov 2014 Richard USA
  • The rooms were okay for the price you pay to stay in New York City. But the shared facilities - restrooms/showers - were nasty. Some of the other guests can be very disgusting, no personal hygiene whatsoever. It's like taking a shower in really bad gym. Location was great, right next to Central Park, close to the subway, and lots of good places to shop and eat.
  • 66%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Richard USA
  • There was one thin blanket on the bed; I checked the closet & there wasn't another. My TV remote didn't work.
  • 89%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Ronald USA
  • Great location; close to subway, Central Park and Lincoln Center
  • 83%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • OUTSTANDING VERY HISTORIC PAST GUESTS e.g. Mickey Rooney and Judy Garland RIGHT ON CENTRAL PARK WEST BY LINCOLN CENTER AND COLUMBUS CIRCLE A GREAT DEAL!!
  • 100%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was a great place to stay on a budget!
  • 91%
  • 21 Aug 2014 David USA
  • The room was small, but clean and as we were out all day - exactly what we needed. The location is brilliant - across the road from Central Park and very close to the subways. Little shop had everything we needed and wi-fi in the room. Was very impressed !
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Erika South Africa
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »