See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 71% from 97 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Has what I need: bed, TV, place to put my desk.
  • 97%
  • 02 May 2014 Fern USA
  • One of the most disgusting sleeps I have ever had. Well not really, but for 112$ it was indecent. I have slept better for 14$ in shared rooms. The shared bathroom (1 per floor) has only 3 showers and 3 toilets for what I assume are 200 people (about 100 rooms). One shower was out of order, so down to two. The female bathroom flooded in the morning. The room is maybe worth 25$ a person, not $60. The matresses are covered with a plastic wrap under the bed sheets and the bed itself (bunk bed) is
  • 51%
  • 26 Apr 2014 fabio
  • The overall service is great, the rooms are clean and the atmosphere is amazing! The only thing that really upset me were the restrooms, they are so old, inconvenient in terms of lack of space to change after taking a shower.
  • 89%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Simple and clean accommodations. Check-in clerk gave me the wrong room number, and forgot to give me the code for the women's bathroom.
  • 69%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Television not working properly; everything else was fine.
  • 71%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The location near Central Park is very convenient, but that's all that is interesting with this place. The room is very small, the building, the bathrooms, everything looks very old, not exactly like what we see on the pictures and cleanliness was dubious. We paid around 95 USD for one night for two guests, I am not sur that it was such a great deal for what we got. Quite disappointed.
  • 49%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Andonirina Madagascar
  • The shared bathroom and toilet was awful. not clean all the time, shower is not stable with the tempareture and no rack for the store belongings while taking shower.
  • 46%
  • 01 Jan 2014 shunsuke Japan
  • The woman at the desc told us that someone took our booking out of the system because they made too many people for new years eve. It's been pretty nice though she's been honest.The room we received than was dirty, didn't even have a curtain at the window, the mattresses were so old that there were large hollows (and I really mean deep large hollows) in the middle, we didn't get the code to the bathroom and all staff members that didn't work at the front desk would always say "no speak english".
  • 49%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Stefanie Germany
  • Wi-Fi/Internet was not working most of the time.
  • 66%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Peter Austria
  • Two excellent and generous people who were always in a good mood and help us a lot : Vanessa Sanchez from the staff and Francisca Infante from the management department. We highly recommend their services. On the contrary, stay away from Ramón from the staff and Lisa from the management department behind their smiles are two selfish people who does not care about the necessities, problems or any misunderstanding that a tourist (who does not speak English as a mother tongue) may have.
  • 57%
  • 29 Dec 2013 maria del carmen Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »