See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 78% from 49 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really appreciated being able to check in early since my bus got in ahead of schedule. I had told Housekeeping that I did not need service on Thursday since I was doing some paperwork when they came by. However, they did not come by on Friday to change towels and empty the trash. Could have been a misunderstanding and they thought I meant I would never need service. It was not really a big deal so I did not bother to report it to the Front Desk. Loved having use of the gym
  • 80%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Richard USA
  • If you are planning a trip to NYC with limited time to stay at your accomodation place, YMCA is perfect! We got a private room with a bunkbed, a desk, tv, and a small closet. Not big at all, but then we only spent our sleep hours here. The shared bathrooms on each floor are kept very clean, and everything works perfectly. The location of the hostel was the best: right outside is the entrance to Central Park, only a block down is the subway, and on the street you'll find food and shopping :)
  • 83%
  • 22 Feb 2015 Sandra Norway
  • I likes the prive cleanliness and location. I'd recomend to put trash cans In the ladies washroom
  • 97%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Cinthia Mexico
  • Can't beat the location. TV signal weak so hard to watch tv but not a big deal. Great to be able to work out and swim.
  • 80%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Richard USA
  • Gym is great.
  • 77%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • I didn't spend much time in the room but it was perfect for my budget and the location was awesome. I am a student and don't mind the cheapness of this place. It's right next to Central Park and other cool attractions.
  • 77%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Location is second to none, but not ideal to meet people with only 1-2 bed private rooms.. The rooms were small but sufficient (only 1 outlet per room though). The bathrooms were clean and the showers worked very well. My bed was super uncomfortable and the pillow was flat as a pancake. Had to check in at the front desk when arriving which was nice to know random people would not be wandering in Overall: huge plus on location, good security, everything else was average/below average
  • 69%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Erica
  • My room smelled like dirty underpants. I had to buy a room deodorizer which helped a little
  • 74%
  • 02 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Room was called deluxe but I wonder what that consists of.
  • 71%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Peter Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »