See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 71% from 78 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The woman at the desc told us that someone took our booking out of the system because they made too many people for new years eve. It's been pretty nice though she's been honest.The room we received than was dirty, didn't even have a curtain at the window, the mattresses were so old that there were large hollows (and I really mean deep large hollows) in the middle, we didn't get the code to the bathroom and all staff members that didn't work at the front desk would always say "no speak english".
  • 49%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Stefanie Germany
  • Wi-Fi/Internet was not working most of the time.
  • 66%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Peter Austria
  • Two excellent and generous people who were always in a good mood and help us a lot : Vanessa Sanchez from the staff and Francisca Infante from the management department. We highly recommend their services. On the contrary, stay away from Ramón from the staff and Lisa from the management department behind their smiles are two selfish people who does not care about the necessities, problems or any misunderstanding that a tourist (who does not speak English as a mother tongue) may have.
  • 57%
  • 29 Dec 2013 maria del carmen Argentina
  • O wifi demora muito para conectar, tiveram dias que mesmo com o aviso de arrumar o quarto ninguem arrumou, assim como nao passavam nem aspirador de po no quarto e acumulava o pó.
  • 74%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Fernanda Brazil
  • Very nice staff, but the beds are very uncomfortable and the bathrooms smelled like urine at all times and i would`t shower there either. Sorry!
  • 54%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Anonymous Norway
  • The location is perfect, near almost everything, but if you want a comfortable place to stay, this place is not for you. The price is right for the service offered.
  • 80%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • is my second time at YMCA 2007 and 2013 (5 west, 63rd st)
  • 91%
  • 18 Dec 2013 tonci Chile
  • Nice clean, warm, rooms with good lighting and plenty of space. Bathrooms clean, slightly small but huge locker rooms downstairs were very nice. Loved the workout facility. Cafe offered excellent healthy options. Great location. Would stay there again.
  • 94%
  • 06 Dec 2013 Vanessa USA
  • The location is really amazing. But a part from this we had problems with some of the staff being rude to my wife, our room was smelling cigarettes, the lady´s restroom was really messy and the men´s shower had the water oscillating wildly from very hot to very cold water. It wont be on my favorites list, but again, there is now way you will find a place to stay in this surroundings even near the price of this one.
  • 60%
  • 06 Dec 2013 andre Brazil
  • I like it. No fancy stuff just a bed, table and a chair in the room but what else do you need for few hours of sleep. Only the toalets and the bathrooms could be a bit better and tidy... in my bathroom only one tab was functinal , i could not flash the urine and the shower was full of hair...
  • 77%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Mateusz Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »