See other New York properties

West Side YMCA

5 West 63rd St., N.Y. 10023, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.6km

Rating: 71% from 101 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff neglected to tell me the bathroom code- worked it out myself inadequate blankets on the bed
  • 69%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Lissanthea Australia
  • They list my reservation two nights of four. Never book here!! Buyer beware!!
  • 20%
  • 16 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Just the womans bath rooms could u do with some work...not very pivate and were to put cloths while showering otherwise Fine...Thanks...
  • 83%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Elizabeth New Zealand
  • I stay in West Side YMCA with my dad for two night. And I will say the whole experience is super TERRIBLE. We stayed at 8 floor private room shared bathroom. The bathroom was really dirty, because there's no window so its wet and humid all day. Plus, the light is broken. That made things even worse. And our room, its very small, it is hard to climb upon the rolling bed, not to mention the mattress is the SOFTEST one I've known. Anyways, I will say the only pros for this site is its location. Ap
  • 51%
  • 05 Oct 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The room I got wasn't appropriate for sleeping at all. I had the main hostel air conditioning unit just out side the window and because of the old room's window air condition which had huge (about 20cm) gap on each side I could not seal it. Those things made it really hard to go to sleep and woke me up everyday at 5am when the unit was turned on. When I asked for solution they told me there are no free rooms. Moreover the bed was on free wheels and the TV wasn't visible at all.
  • 71%
  • 03 Oct 2013 Tomer Israel
  • it was my third stay at the west side YMCA and it´s still a good place to sleep in NYC. The best is the Location nearby the central park. Rooms are small, but clean, subway ist 5 minutes away.
  • 77%
  • 16 Sep 2013 Ronald Germany
  • It's what I expected from a hostel - decent price, GREAT location. BUT twice during my stay, they tried to give my room to someone else! Both were given a key to my (private) room (with all my stuff in it!). I happened to be around both times and could deal with it - but if I hadn't been around... I have zero confidence in the security... Otherwise, it was as expected - just like any other YMCA. Awesome to get this location for this price. I'd stay here again if I was on a budget.
  • 66%
  • 12 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • I left because there was little or no internet connectivity.
  • 83%
  • 10 Sep 2013 Susan USA
  • The only problem we had was that our floor was some kind of construction area. Especially the bathroom. Nevertheless it was a nice stay and I would come back.
  • 83%
  • 06 Sep 2013 Alexander Germany
  • Restrooms were wet and dirty. Central Park is a very good location.
  • 74%
  • 30 Aug 2013 Lawrence Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »