See other New York properties

Westway Hotel & Hostel La Guardia New York

71-11 Astoria Boulevard, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 11km

Rating: 80% from 138 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed for two nights there. Everything is fine except that the lock on the door is broken, and the locker is too small.
  • 63%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Yanbin China
  • The best hostel for young people I've ever been. Great atmosphere, amazing people, really nice staff. I spent great time there :)
  • 91%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Aleksandra Poland
  • Overall a good experience. It didn't make sense that people could check-in at 3am, but I wasn't able to check-in at 9am although someone was there. I had to wait around till 3pm. Reception was 24hrs.
  • 80%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Beds were comfortable enough and towels and linens were neat and clean. Lockers in room are nice to have, but bring your own lock (or buy one from the front desk for $5). I was in a room with 5 other girls (3 bunk beds) so space was kind of tight. Know that if you share a room, your roommates may not turn off the light or be quiet until they go to bed, which could be 3 am. Staff was pleasant and accommodating. Lounge across the street was enjoyable.
  • 69%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • All days, the housekeeper cleans the rooms; and you can leave your luggage for some days in the hostel to travel to another city and come back to pick up it without pay anything. The problem is the noise of the Astoria Boulevard in the rooms close of it; and you need to cross a footbridge every time you come back from Manhattan.
  • 86%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Everything was just fine.. I would just recomend to buy an extra fridge, because those two were really overcrowded..:D
  • 77%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Free wifi, clean and well-kept. The staff was very efficient and helpful. Met a lot of interesting people there
  • 91%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Michael USA
  • Stayed eight nights and did not experience any complications - reliable room service, 24/7 reception, fast wireless connection, community kitchen and television, bathrooms within dorms. Linen and towels included. If you need help anyway, you should ask the friendly staff - as long as you're polite, they are as well and they used to speak english and spanish both. And yes, there is highway noise around the clock, but doesn't that make the NYC feeling right?
  • 86%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Christian Germany
  • Bathroom & dorm was clean. However there is no restaurants in the hotel, you have to go out.Moreover they don't provide any locker facility for your belongings. You have to take care of this. WiFi was pretty slow.
  • 66%
  • 23 Jun 2014 srikanta India
  • I just wish the cleaning staff would use ANTIBACTERIAL cleaning solutions in the Lounge, instead of WINDEX (which is for windows, and has NO disinfecting qualities.) Lots of people use the Lounge and EAT in the lounge---the tables need to be properly cleaned. I have stayed at this hostel on several occasions and have personally witnessed them using ONLY Windex. I brought it up to the front desk, but, to no avail---falls on deaf ears. Perhaps a call to the CITY , Dept. of Health is in order...
  • 89%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Karen USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »