See other New York properties

Westway Hotel & Hostel La Guardia New York

71-11 Astoria Boulevard, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 11km

Rating: 80% from 142 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very small, facilities across the road a bit annoying, if you want night life you are a fair while away from anything good. Rooms are comfortable with pretty good amenities.
  • 51%
  • 13 Apr 2014 ARRON Australia
  • There should be tables and chairs for people to work on. There should be some shelves or ledges for people to put toiletries on. The lockers should be larger. There should be back up toilets for people to use in case the one in their room is occupied. The kitchen should not be removed from the hostel.
  • 74%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • Everything was fine until a week after I left the hostel, when I noticed an additional charge on my credit card. I contacted the hostel to find out what the charge was for and discovered it was for a no-show booking which I didn't even make. When it became clear that this was simply a result of an error in their computer system the hostel simply stopped responding to my emails to request a refund of this amount, A dishonest and unscrupulous hostel.
  • 20%
  • 16 Mar 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • The staff was so helpful and the place was so clean. I got lost and had to check in at 2 in the morning without a problem. It was kinda far from downtown, but for the price it was worth it. It was super easy to hop on the train. Next time I'm in new york I plan on staying here.
  • 86%
  • 11 Mar 2014 holly USA
  • Flexible check-in hours was the best part. I was able to arrive at almost 1AM to check in and check out at 4AM, which made scheduling flights much easier.
  • 74%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • It is a clean place and the beds are cofortable. However, what really was annoying they put us into a room they were also using as a luggageroom (we found out when we were checking out). There were people comming in all morning dropping off their bags, leaving and left the light on. We thought they were our new roommates until they suddenly left and new people were popping in. These are just our experiences, you might wanna check out other reviews for a more objective impression ;)
  • 69%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Marek
  • Good value budget hotel outside city.
  • 83%
  • 16 Feb 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Everything about this hostel was just what we were looking for. We had a group of 21 students with us and it was perfect. The only minus I could think of is that if you arrive at JFK, it is a bit hard to get to. But if you arrive at Laguardia, it is perfect. Well worth the money. The staff was very accomodating. we watched teh Super Bowl in the common area and it was amazing. Very nice TV.
  • 100%
  • 30 Jan 2014 David USA
  • Location to and from LGA by Bus 60 is excellent as bus stop two blocks away. If you do not wish to walk across the high bridge on the way back to LGA walk to 49 street and go across the bridge to catch bus to LGA; Kitchen and TV across for those who likes cooking; Harlem is safe and shopping and eating is CHEAPer than donwtown. ENJOY
  • 83%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great place if you are coming in a group. You only share the room with your group, and the bathroom. Good location and really cheap, we ended up staying for a week. Really recommend it!
  • 91%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Abdul India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »