See other New York properties

Westway Hotel & Hostel La Guardia New York

71-11 Astoria Boulevard, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 11km

Rating: 81% from 141 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Stayed eight nights and did not experience any complications - reliable room service, 24/7 reception, fast wireless connection, community kitchen and television, bathrooms within dorms. Linen and towels included. If you need help anyway, you should ask the friendly staff - as long as you're polite, they are as well and they used to speak english and spanish both. And yes, there is highway noise around the clock, but doesn't that make the NYC feeling right?
  • 86%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Christian Germany
  • Bathroom & dorm was clean. However there is no restaurants in the hotel, you have to go out.Moreover they don't provide any locker facility for your belongings. You have to take care of this. WiFi was pretty slow.
  • 66%
  • 23 Jun 2014 srikanta India
  • I just wish the cleaning staff would use ANTIBACTERIAL cleaning solutions in the Lounge, instead of WINDEX (which is for windows, and has NO disinfecting qualities.) Lots of people use the Lounge and EAT in the lounge---the tables need to be properly cleaned. I have stayed at this hostel on several occasions and have personally witnessed them using ONLY Windex. I brought it up to the front desk, but, to no avail---falls on deaf ears. Perhaps a call to the CITY , Dept. of Health is in order...
  • 89%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Karen USA
  • It's safe and clean place so just enough for few nights sleep in NY. It's just little too far from subway station... Buses in America are not really on time :(
  • 80%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • A clean, secure hostel with good facilities. But does not give you much of the 'hostel experience'- it is more like a hotel than a hostel, and the environment seemed (to me) to be sterile and corporate.
  • 69%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Cedric Canada
  • I made a good choice booking this place, it did not empty my wallet! It was clean, rooms were spacious, clean bathrooms and I did not have to wait in line to use the bathroom as there are bathrooms in each room. The common room was very "home-like" and I got to socialized with other people that were sating there.
  • 91%
  • 30 May 2014 James Poland
  • The area is nice and very safe residential area. The diner a block down is great. Good prices and is not as far from the city as people may think. Staff is very helpful too.
  • 89%
  • 29 May 2014 Lori Netherlands
  • The floor is so dirty and smelly. I could not sleep at all due to the car noise from the highway. The window was covered by crushed paper blind. Lots of stains in bath tube.
  • 31%
  • 17 May 2014 Taesik South Korea
  • I caught the staffer going through my luggage -need I say more?
  • 43%
  • 14 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I thought it was great, and even though there was a problem with our original booking they took care of everything quickly and set us up in a better room. The location was great, and the staff were friendly. Keep is up folks.
  • 94%
  • 06 May 2014 Logan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »