See other New York properties

Westway Hotel & Hostel La Guardia New York

71-11 Astoria Boulevard, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 11km

Rating: 80% from 139 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Helpfull staff. The location isnät very good though. Far away from a subway station and right next to a highway with cars flashing by all the time. There are buses going to the subway station but while is was visiting they did not come when they were scheduled.
  • 60%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • I have absolutely nothing bad about this hostel. Room were perfect and staff was very kind and helpfull! Lack of english didnt bother me at all, in the end i got all information needed! I thank u guys for giving me great stay at new york. its defenitely astorias best hostel! One day i will be back
  • 80%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Reetta Finland
  • We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm and we were five. The second night we came back late at 4 o'clock. We entered our room and saw that one bunk bed was missing! The receptionist said they took it out because of a new law that had been enforced. The staff and the manager didn't really care just offered us a place in an other room at 4 o'clock... They said we should be glad as we had been upgraded to a 4 bed room. After a long discussion I managed to get a 50 dollar refund and a matress.
  • 43%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Marie-Antoinette Germany
  • We have a reservation and they entertained us very late that night. It's a good thing. CONS, that night, it was very hot so the other tenant open the window so there some breeze can come in then in the early morning, My friend and I woke up because of the loud beeping sound coming from outside. But as whole, I stayed, sleep in the bed and survive that night.
  • 77%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Not a bad little place. It's very close to the airport and the M60 bus picks up half a block up the street and drops off across the street at a skywalk. The commute into Manhattan is about an hour, so plan for that. Staff was very nice, the halls were clean and brightly lit, but the rooms are a little cold so if you've got the space, bring an extra blanket. Also, Housekeeping kept not making my bed because I left my stuffed animal on it, so leave nothing on the bed.
  • 80%
  • 09 Oct 2013 LeeAnn USA
  • This is easy to get to from Manhattan. About a 20-30 min subway ride on the N or Q lines. Then it is a short bus ride to the hostel, but also very easy to walk to .... maybe 15-20 min depending on how fast you walk. A very safe area, everyone in the area is friendly and kids around. Also, a very short ride from LaGuardia airport. I was on the bus for 10 min or less before the stop. The 6 bed dorms are nice, so not too bad. I cant speak to the breakfast as I was never up in time, lol.
  • 86%
  • 09 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Clean, cute and quite is a good place to stay thanks guys
  • 100%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Joanna France
  • The Staff at the Queens Location (Westway) was excellent and helpful. Close to transportation and safe area.
  • 80%
  • 05 Oct 2013 LaSaundra USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »