See other New York properties

Westway Hotel & Hostel La Guardia New York

71-11 Astoria Boulevard, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 11km

Rating: 80% from 140 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • please don't change bed sheet everyday!!!
  • 69%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Very easy to reach (Astoria Blv. subway stop and bus M60), really deluxe for a hostel, rooms with 4 bunk beds and bathroom ensuite, excellent value for money.
  • 94%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Very helpful staff, location was decent. There was a bus stop right outside the door and the subway was just a few minute ride there. Only problem was it was a long walk home from the subway because the busses don't run late. Long but manageable: maybe a 20-30 minute walk
  • 86%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Joseph USA
  • On avait réservé pour une chambre 6 places. J'ai envoyé un courriel pour confirmer que nous serions 7 et qu'on voulait absolument tous être dans la même chambre. En arrivant on nous avait placé dans deux chambres et malgré les discussions et le fait de montrer le courriel de l'hôtel qui nous confirmait que nous serions dans la même chambre il n'y a rien eu à faire pour qu'ils nous accommode. En plus le grille-pain ne fonctionnait pas...de toutes les auberges de jeunesse c'est ma pire
  • 60%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Eric Canada
  • Very small, facilities across the road a bit annoying, if you want night life you are a fair while away from anything good. Rooms are comfortable with pretty good amenities.
  • 51%
  • 13 Apr 2014 ARRON Australia
  • There should be tables and chairs for people to work on. There should be some shelves or ledges for people to put toiletries on. The lockers should be larger. There should be back up toilets for people to use in case the one in their room is occupied. The kitchen should not be removed from the hostel.
  • 74%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • The staff were excellent and very helpful
  • 80%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Abigail
  • Everything was fine until a week after I left the hostel, when I noticed an additional charge on my credit card. I contacted the hostel to find out what the charge was for and discovered it was for a no-show booking which I didn't even make. When it became clear that this was simply a result of an error in their computer system the hostel simply stopped responding to my emails to request a refund of this amount, A dishonest and unscrupulous hostel.
  • 20%
  • 16 Mar 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • The staff was so helpful and the place was so clean. I got lost and had to check in at 2 in the morning without a problem. It was kinda far from downtown, but for the price it was worth it. It was super easy to hop on the train. Next time I'm in new york I plan on staying here.
  • 86%
  • 11 Mar 2014 holly USA
  • Flexible check-in hours was the best part. I was able to arrive at almost 1AM to check in and check out at 4AM, which made scheduling flights much easier.
  • 74%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »