See other New York properties

Westway Hotel & Hostel La Guardia New York

71-11 Astoria Boulevard, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 11km

Rating: 81% from 140 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel is very welcoming and comfortable, love the way they treat the guest and good atmosphere, a lot of young people. We will come back for sure!
  • 83%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Harold C. Australia
  • I love it! The hostel was big, which increased my chances of meeting other people from around the world and share the experience. The location is good, you can take the train or the bus to get to the city. The common area was also good, perfect for conversations with other people. The rooms were cleaned daily and the overall facility was also clean.
  • 86%
  • 11 Jan 2014 Takara Guatemala
  • Staying there now. It is a very clean, well kept hostel. Very friendly and helpful people. The front desk people are very nice and polite, they will help you with anything! The cleaning staff does a great job, everything is always clean. Just wish the vending machine was not so expensive. In general great place and convenient for the wallet.
  • 89%
  • 11 Jan 2014 Clarissa Mexico
  • Great hostel. Cheap, it is very easy to hop on the bus and go to the city. Perfect place to sleep, it is really quiet, and even have fun. Got to know other guests. I would recommend. The staff were really nice during my visit. :)
  • 91%
  • 09 Jan 2014 Marcus USA
  • I only stayed one night but I was alone in NYC for the first time ever in my life and I definitely felt safe here. When I arrived, I was welcomed by the front desk, they were very nice and friendly. I don't really know NYC and being alone is no help, but the front desk helped me a lot on how to get to Manhattan, they were really helpful. There were a variety of travelers staying when I was there, young old. It was fine. Clean, decent, safe. There was a pool table and computers and maps in there.
  • 97%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Amika USA
  • Just came back from taking our group trip to see NYC. This was a great place to stay on a budget. Very, very clean. Take the bus that is a half a block away from the hostel and it takes you directly into NYC, no need for transfer and confusions. Plenty of space in the lounge for us to gather and plan our activities. We also got to meet other people from all over the world, which was great. We felt safe here. Would definitely come back!
  • 94%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Ezequiel USA
  • its freezing in new york and yet they don't have heater in the room!
  • 80%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous Philippines
  • Staff were very helpful when I asked for help. Really clean bathroom. There is a bus stop in front of our hostel, it's easy to get to downtown.
  • 91%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Naomi Japan
  • I don't know why,there's almost no heat after midnight in winter season in New York in this hostel! very cold, I have changed my room but still feel colddddd~~~ and finally find almost everyone has this complaint. By the way, poor heat is not controlled by us,it's controlled by hostel.
  • 49%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • overall it is a good place to stay. the only issue i had, it does not have heater in the room or maybe not working.
  • 80%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous Philippines
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »