See other New York properties

Westway Hotel & Hostel La Guardia New York

71-11 Astoria Boulevard, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 11km

Rating: 81% from 139 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's a great place to stay when you're on a tight budget and just need a place to sleep. The staff is always helpful and kind, as is their maintenance crew. Clean, big rooms, lounge is big too. It literally took me 5 min in the bus from La Guardia to get to the hostel, and to Manhattan is 15/20 minutes. If you want to stay in New York for a few days on a budget, this is a wonderful choice!
  • 86%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Samantha A. Australia
  • This was a last minute booking as my other hotel ended up canceling my reservation for some reason. I didn't expect much, but when I arrived I a very nice and jolly receptionist helped me to check in. It's a nice place, rooms are spacious, everything was clean, the common area was also spacious. The kitchen was clean and I was able to cook something for myself. Transportation was also accessible and quick to get to Manhattan. Overall it was a great place, I ended up staying for 5 days.
  • 89%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Alan C. Australia
  • The hostel is nice, rooms clean, staff so far great. Stayed in the hostel for a week great and spacious rooms. One thing I thought was perfect is that every morning through the windows the sun light come right in and bright through the windows. Very secure area, no need to worry about the time you come. Bus stop is right outside the hostel. Only good things to say about this place.
  • 91%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Miranda USA
  • This is a great place to stay, the prices a very cheap, and if you think you are going to get something bad b/c of the price, that is not the case here. it is always clean, cozy, comfortable, the staff is friendly, helpful, and attentive. I still need to stay here for a week or so more and I will definitely keep on extending! Great place, really recommend it!
  • 94%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Eileen T. USA
  • The people that I've met at the hostel were very nice, people from different place. The neighborhood is really nice an quiet and you will definitely feel safe even if you walk outside at 3am (which is the time a came back from partying). Getting int the city is also very easy, get on the bus and its a 20 min ride. Great staff with great costumer service. Very comfortable place overall.
  • 97%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Willie Germany
  • Hostel is very welcoming and comfortable, love the way they treat the guest and good atmosphere, a lot of young people. We will come back for sure!
  • 83%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Harold C. Australia
  • I love it! The hostel was big, which increased my chances of meeting other people from around the world and share the experience. The location is good, you can take the train or the bus to get to the city. The common area was also good, perfect for conversations with other people. The rooms were cleaned daily and the overall facility was also clean.
  • 86%
  • 11 Jan 2014 Takara Guatemala
  • Staying there now. It is a very clean, well kept hostel. Very friendly and helpful people. The front desk people are very nice and polite, they will help you with anything! The cleaning staff does a great job, everything is always clean. Just wish the vending machine was not so expensive. In general great place and convenient for the wallet.
  • 89%
  • 11 Jan 2014 Clarissa Mexico
  • Great hostel. Cheap, it is very easy to hop on the bus and go to the city. Perfect place to sleep, it is really quiet, and even have fun. Got to know other guests. I would recommend. The staff were really nice during my visit. :)
  • 91%
  • 09 Jan 2014 Marcus USA
  • I only stayed one night but I was alone in NYC for the first time ever in my life and I definitely felt safe here. When I arrived, I was welcomed by the front desk, they were very nice and friendly. I don't really know NYC and being alone is no help, but the front desk helped me a lot on how to get to Manhattan, they were really helpful. There were a variety of travelers staying when I was there, young old. It was fine. Clean, decent, safe. There was a pool table and computers and maps in there.
  • 97%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Amika USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »