See other Seoul properties

Whitetail Backpacker & Hostel

241-28 Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, South Korea, Distance from city centre: 4.9km

Rating: 94% from 10 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 100%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 98%Value for money
  • 96%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was definitely one of the better hostels I've stayed in while traveling around Oceania and the US. This was the first hostel I stayed in in Korea (and also Asia) so I can't compare it to typical Asian hostels, but staying here definitely added to my good experiences in Seoul. The hosts Jin and Jun are very friendly and capable. The hostel is in a quiet neighborhood, but close to busy Hongdae, so its ideal in my opinion. The hostel itself is very comfortable, clean and homey.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Payal USA
  • Great deal for the price! Laundry service and breakfast everyday, and the location in Hongdae is very convenient.
  • 89%
  • 27 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Trouble finding it at first but managers found me by chance! They're very nice and helpful, the hostel is always clean, and breakfast is always enough and allowed me to plan my day without worrying about what to get for breakfast. you'll meet other great travelers too! the atmosphere is very nice and friendly.
  • 100%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The owners are very friendly and helpfull and the atmosphere is comfortable.It is the best hostel I've stayed in so far. The owner even cooks breakfast and does the laundry.
  • 91%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Patricia USA
  • Hostel was really great. Everything was new and clean. Great atmosphere. Jin and Jun, the owners, were especially nice. They helped me get around Korea since I can't speak Korean. They wrote down directions, lent me a adapter for electronics, and got me a train pass. The location is great too: it's right next to Hongik University, near the shopping districts and restaurants. I had a really great time staying at the hostel.
  • 100%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • nice hostel
  • 83%
  • 15 Dec 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The best hostel I've stayed at. The owners were very friendly and the hostel has a home-like feel. It was very easy to get to know other guests.
  • 97%
  • 10 Sep 2013 Anonymous Finland
  • Whitetail and backpackers is the best hostel I have ever stayed. Even if it's a bit far from the metro station (10min), it really is worth booking in this hostel. The staff is so nice and friendly that it counterbalances with the distance. They help you planning your trip if needed and the breakfasts they prepare are delicious. It is also very clean and the rooms are nice especially the one in the rooftop! I really enjoyed my stay there and hope being able to go there again in the futur!
  • 94%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »