See other Calgary properties

Wicked Hostels - Calgary

1505 MacLeod Tr. SE, Calgary, Canada, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 86% from 38 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very friendly hostel with great facilities - breakfast and tea etc is appreciated and of course an iron & hairdryer is not the norm in a hostel and is great
  • 94%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Great place to stop over or to spend as much time as you feel like, totally to be recommended!!
  • 89%
  • 04 Jun 2014 ROBERTO Spain
  • The people were very warm and welcoming which means a lot considering after a 17 hour bus ride I wasn't as outgoing as I normally am and they made me comfortable enough to be myself and I was instantly offered a ride by a stranger to the airport. Wow, seriously I'm not sure if this is unique to me but I would stay there again if I were in town and in the party mood. Thanks guys big time!
  • 80%
  • 31 May 2014 Ty Canada
  • The location was perfect for me. It was across the road from Stampede Park where the Calgary Marathon was, and is just a short walk from downtown and the bus to the airport. It's a pretty chilled place and the staff are great and always on call. There's not so much anything wrong with the place, but it does lack extra features. It'd be nice if there was a TV, magazines or more organised events/outings. Although there is a substantial free breakfast and a free laundry service.
  • 71%
  • 31 May 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • From back in the old days (hippie)",FAR OUT", can,t remember EVER staying at a better run hostel. Free ,GREAT breakfast ,lots of fruit ,cereal ,pancakes . Lots of travellers ,but no hold up 4 showers /facilities . Very clean ,endengers a strong feeling of safety ,great location , BOOK IT !! mike ,Thanks Wicked !
  • 100%
  • 27 May 2014 mikemacneil Canada
  • Hostel was in a great location only 5-10 mins walk to the start of the Red Mile. Not much happening like activities to get to know fellow backpackers to call it a Party Hostel. But regardless I would stay here again when we are in town as it is clean and safe location.
  • 89%
  • 17 May 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Room was a little on the small side, but kitchen and shower facilities were good. Love the way that Jeff uses humour to leave instructions around the place, helps create a nice atmosphere!
  • 80%
  • 16 May 2014 George England
  • Thank you so much Wicked hostel! My friends and I were in town for a conference and we wanted to save a bit of money and stay in a hostel rather than a hotel. This could not have been a better decision! I was most appreciative of the free breakfast, the comfortable beds, and the cleanliness of the entire hostel. I know that it takes a lot of work cleaning that place, but you should know, it doesn't go unnoticed. Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Sarah USA
  • Despite being advertised as a party hostel it was a really nice place to stay. Friendly people, not bad on the noise. The one things is that coming from a HI I was expecting a locker to put my things in but instead both bunks had to throw there things under the bottom bunk which resulted in some mess and confusion.
  • 80%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Mitchell Canada
  • I liked my stay, they have very nice staffs, great location, value for money.
  • 100%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »