See other San Francisco properties

Winsor Hotel

20 6th street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 71% from 18 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 64%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place was an interesting hotel/hostel combination; the bathrooms/baths were shared, but the rooms (with sinks included) were private. It was an excellent price (comparable to traditional hostels where one would have to share the room), clean, quiet, had good wifi and friendly staff. The only sort of downside was the location; it was in a good place (downtown, near a bunch of stuff) but in kind of a bad area. Other than that I thought it was fantastic and I'd stay again.
  • 91%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice, clean room & facilities - no kitchen availible though. Make sure to have dinner at the Vietnamese place just outside, and don't mind the vagabonds on the streets. Would visit again, esp. if the price was a bit lower.
  • 83%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Jakub Poland
  • You get what you paid for. Great location, many others mention crackheads and homeless, but they did not affect my stay.
  • 63%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • When we booked the Winsor Hotel, we got a little scared by the reviews saying there would be "scary people" out on the street. We didn't find them scary at all. Sure, the hotel is just across Market St. from the Tenderloin. But honestly, if you've ever lived in a decent-sized city before it's nothing you can't deal with- some of them were even very friendly. In any case the hotel is safe, clean and the staff is there 24/7 to help (and to allow check-in/out at any time). Would recommend! :)
  • 86%
  • 14 May 2014 Gabriel France
  • For a low-budget traveller this is an excellent choice. As long as you don't mind the drug dealers and homeless people outside the hostel, you´ll be fine. The staff was helpful and friendly. If you are a timid and sensitive person, I wouldn't recommend this Hostel to you.
  • 69%
  • 09 May 2014 Sampo Finland
  • It's too dirty and smell is dishusting
  • 57%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • If you are looking to save cash, this place is great. It is in the absolute worst part of town. That said, I felt ok during the day and was glad I had my boyfriend with me at night. Honestly it's easy to get inexpensive cabs (you'll have to, it's only uphill!!!), the staff was friendly, and it was very clean. The showers even had dispensers of shampoo and soap! Great place if you are on the tightest of budgets but still want to be near all the action.
  • 66%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was a last minute trip and worked out well. It was low cost lodging near mass transit in a gentrifying neighborhood. They are still renovating who knows at what speed but the staff was nice and let us store our bags after checkout on a rainy day. That was a huge help.
  • 63%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hotel is a great value stay. Everything inside is nice and new. It was remodeled a year ago under new management, a young couple who are very friendly and accommodating. Only inconvenient thing is that there is no breakfast or kitchen. And you have to put up with homeless, scary looking but harmless people walking around outside. But if you are okay with that then you can't beat the price.
  • 77%
  • 04 Jan 2014 john USA
  • This place is in the heart of the tenderloin, which is a ROUGH district of San Fran. However, the location is SUPER close to lots of central locations in San Fran and that is awesome. The place was clean and actually the showers have all been newly tiled, so previous comments about moldy showers are not true anymore. The staff were very friendly and informed me they've been in the process of remodeling. It shows, the place looks like it used to be a hell hole, but now it's actually pretty nice.
  • 71%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Lisa USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »