See other San Francisco properties

Winsor Hotel

20 6th street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 70% from 19 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 63%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It is a nice cheap hotel, clean and helpfull staff. But the area it is in, isn't that great. There are a lot of hobo's and we did ' feel that safe. Nothing ever happend, but it just didn ' feel good aspecially in the evening. The bed in the rooms are small, so not equiped for large people. It would be better if the had a kitchen. Hotel is a good option if there is not much free anymore. Parking isn't at the hotel but park at soma grand at Mission street.
  • 57%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Lieke Netherlands
  • This place was an interesting hotel/hostel combination; the bathrooms/baths were shared, but the rooms (with sinks included) were private. It was an excellent price (comparable to traditional hostels where one would have to share the room), clean, quiet, had good wifi and friendly staff. The only sort of downside was the location; it was in a good place (downtown, near a bunch of stuff) but in kind of a bad area. Other than that I thought it was fantastic and I'd stay again.
  • 91%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice, clean room & facilities - no kitchen availible though. Make sure to have dinner at the Vietnamese place just outside, and don't mind the vagabonds on the streets. Would visit again, esp. if the price was a bit lower.
  • 83%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Jakub Poland
  • You get what you paid for. Great location, many others mention crackheads and homeless, but they did not affect my stay.
  • 63%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • When we booked the Winsor Hotel, we got a little scared by the reviews saying there would be "scary people" out on the street. We didn't find them scary at all. Sure, the hotel is just across Market St. from the Tenderloin. But honestly, if you've ever lived in a decent-sized city before it's nothing you can't deal with- some of them were even very friendly. In any case the hotel is safe, clean and the staff is there 24/7 to help (and to allow check-in/out at any time). Would recommend! :)
  • 86%
  • 14 May 2014 Gabriel France
  • For a low-budget traveller this is an excellent choice. As long as you don't mind the drug dealers and homeless people outside the hostel, you´ll be fine. The staff was helpful and friendly. If you are a timid and sensitive person, I wouldn't recommend this Hostel to you.
  • 69%
  • 09 May 2014 Sampo Finland
  • It's too dirty and smell is dishusting
  • 57%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • If you are looking to save cash, this place is great. It is in the absolute worst part of town. That said, I felt ok during the day and was glad I had my boyfriend with me at night. Honestly it's easy to get inexpensive cabs (you'll have to, it's only uphill!!!), the staff was friendly, and it was very clean. The showers even had dispensers of shampoo and soap! Great place if you are on the tightest of budgets but still want to be near all the action.
  • 66%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was a last minute trip and worked out well. It was low cost lodging near mass transit in a gentrifying neighborhood. They are still renovating who knows at what speed but the staff was nice and let us store our bags after checkout on a rainy day. That was a huge help.
  • 63%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hotel is a great value stay. Everything inside is nice and new. It was remodeled a year ago under new management, a young couple who are very friendly and accommodating. Only inconvenient thing is that there is no breakfast or kitchen. And you have to put up with homeless, scary looking but harmless people walking around outside. But if you are okay with that then you can't beat the price.
  • 77%
  • 04 Jan 2014 john USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »