See other San Francisco properties

Winsor Hotel

20 6th street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 66% from 30 reviews

  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 66%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 62%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Got a cab to the hotel. Outside the front door of the hotel were a group of 10 - 15 thugs, some of them were dressed head to toe in gang colors, some of them looked out of there minds on drugs. They all stared as we sat there in the cab. The driver advised us not to hop out, instead we asked him to take us to another hotel. I had already payed a deposit to reserve the room, my card was then also charged for the nights stay. Not happy at all.
  • 20%
  • 24 Aug 2014 David New Zealand
  • Excellent location, nice and clean room and the staff is kind and helpful
  • 94%
  • 20 Aug 2014 stefano Italy
  • the outside is surrounded by homeless and this place is literally next to a bar where there is always shouting and banging of some sort all throughout the night
  • 54%
  • 19 Aug 2014 amy USA
  • It's close to the union square, and it's a nice hotel. Importantly, the price is reasonable compared to the other hotels in SF. the location is nice.
  • 91%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Gang China
  • My boyfriend and I got a bit scared when reading all the messages about the homeless people. It was actually not as bad as we thought. I wouldn't wanna walk there alone at night, but together it was fine. The hostel was nice too.
  • 77%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Tjits Netherlands
  • Had a clean double bed room. Staff was friendly, bath and restrooms were hygienic As others mentioned, it is close to a crossing where many homeless-looking people are, but all they do is kindly beg for money.
  • 77%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • It is a nice cheap hotel, clean and helpfull staff. But the area it is in, isn't that great. There are a lot of hobo's and we did ' feel that safe. Nothing ever happend, but it just didn ' feel good aspecially in the evening. The bed in the rooms are small, so not equiped for large people. It would be better if the had a kitchen. Hotel is a good option if there is not much free anymore. Parking isn't at the hotel but park at soma grand at Mission street.
  • 57%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Lieke Netherlands
  • This place was an interesting hotel/hostel combination; the bathrooms/baths were shared, but the rooms (with sinks included) were private. It was an excellent price (comparable to traditional hostels where one would have to share the room), clean, quiet, had good wifi and friendly staff. The only sort of downside was the location; it was in a good place (downtown, near a bunch of stuff) but in kind of a bad area. Other than that I thought it was fantastic and I'd stay again.
  • 91%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice, clean room & facilities - no kitchen availible though. Make sure to have dinner at the Vietnamese place just outside, and don't mind the vagabonds on the streets. Would visit again, esp. if the price was a bit lower.
  • 83%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Jakub Poland
  • You get what you paid for. Great location, many others mention crackheads and homeless, but they did not affect my stay.
  • 63%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »