See other Berlin properties

Wombats City Hostel Berlin

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 89% from 68 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is located not far from the center and it worth its money. The only thing we found missing was lack of spacious hall with tables, coaches etc. At the entrance there was some small space where people can sit for a chat and small kitchen (but very clean). Generally, if you don't spend time at hostel apart from sleeping the choice is very good. We just wanted to have a rest before going to sleep to our room and it would be good to have some bigger hall for socializing.
  • 83%
  • 11 Sep 2015 VOLHA Belarus
  • the view from the bar is awesome, really nice atmosphere in the place, wifi really poor in the rooms and bar area. People from all over the world.
  • 74%
  • 01 Sep 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great location, friendly staff. There were some problems with the wifi in the uppers floors tho
  • 91%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Ricardo Chile
  • Everything was ship-shape in this hostel. I have nothing bad to say except that they let half the people in my room check in around midnight so they kept me awake in the middle of the night. That was unpleasant and wish they had a check-in time cut-off. Not every one wants to stay up late and party every night. The terrace and bar were nice and seems like a great place to meet people. The security was great and the facilities were great.
  • 94%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Sara USA
  • The staff have the patience of a saint, and build a very relaxed, fun and enjoyable atmosphere. Everything the traveller needs can either be found, or you are efficiently directed to the best place to go. The roof top bar is fantastic and the prices hard to beat.
  • 89%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Peter England
  • Great place, great city, great experience, well located. Members of staff seemed always tired, but helpful enough. The kitchen is excellent, they even have their own herb that you can use to cook or prepare drinks. Breakfast is all you can eat buffet for 3,80 EUR including different types of coffe and hot chocolate, fruit, bread, cheese, peanut butter, nutella, butter... even tomato, lettuce and cucumber. It is 10 min walk to the train station and has underground stop just around the corner.
  • 91%
  • 31 May 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • very nice, we had a 6 bed room just for my whole family (me, my wife and 4 children) and we really enjoy it. Only one thing i didn't like: on saturday night (about 5 in the morning) the guys in the next room made a lot of noise when they came back from city.
  • 91%
  • 29 Apr 2015 alfredo Italy
  • We had some problems with safe in dorm, everything else was good
  • 74%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • Large hostel, since they have an attached restaurant and a bar, they expect to use those for people to meet others. As a solo traveler was a little hard to meet people, but I never let it stop me. Good drink specials, the front desk are really nice and try to help you plan. Hostel is close to almost everything. Security isn't good because there'd be drunks just standing outside who'd wonder in and the front desk wouldn't notice. But it's kinda expected at hostels..Not a 'party' hostel
  • 80%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice and clean hostel, modern and very well located. I slept in a 4 person dorm which was great, and there were enough space for everybody. The only minus is the beds - they are like cheap IKEA wooden bunk beds and the one I slept in seemed like it could fall apart every second. The hostel is so nice and modern, so I wonder why they didn't spend a bit more on the beds. But besides that, a great hostel, will definitely come back. And the staff is very friendly!
  • 80%
  • 12 Apr 2015 Anonymous Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »