See other Berlin properties

Wombats City Hostel Berlin

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 87% from 61 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was very impressed with hostal until it came time to sleep. The outside space was not closed and people were allowed to remain there talking very loudly until the early morning. As it was 90+ it was necessary to have windows open. If you are in need of sleep, this is not the place for you as the terrace bar gets very loud after midnight with blaring music and people running through the hallways screaming and getting sick.. Staff did not intervene to stop this.
  • 74%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Jennifer USA
  • Great atmosphere and terrace bar is a major bonus.
  • 97%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Georgia England
  • Personally I don't really very like big Hostels
  • 69%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Yang China
  • Very far away from major sights, most likely need bike to get around. Great food along the street though. Big hostel, not recommended for solo travelers.
  • 71%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great place. About a 10 minute walk from Alexanderplatz. The rooftop bar upstairs is great at night and usually goes till about 2 AM. Wonderful atmosphere, very easy to meet people, and the staff downstairs is very helpful. I highly recommend this hostel if you are looking for a good place to party when you're not out partying.
  • 91%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent hostel! Very much enjoyed it, however the internet could use some improving.
  • 86%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Elisa Italy
  • The atmosphere was great, the bar upstairs was great for meeting people and starting the night properly. There is a kitchen where you can cook your own food if you want. The only thing is the wifi was TERRIBLE, you could only access it in the lobby or the bar, but even then it was brutal... and they charge for computer access.
  • 91%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • + Very clean, staff is friendly and helpful - The wifi is very slow
  • 77%
  • 27 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Stayed here for my stag do in early May and our six bed room was great. Plenty of room, comfortable beds (with linen provided) and a decent bathroom. I was surprised at how quiet the hostel was late at night too, especially when you consider the collective amount of alcohol consumed! I'd be happy to stay here again.
  • 89%
  • 09 May 2014 Anonymous England
  • Wombats Berlin's shared rooms have a slightly run down look and feel. The twin share with ensuite we later moved into was cleaner and better maintained. The underground is a few minutes walk and Berlin is well connected by public transport so its easy to get around. There is an expensive restaurant attached to the hostel where you can treat yourself to some Louisiana style/ Cajun food. The highlight for us was the excellent staff who had great suggestions and were always very helpful!
  • 83%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »