See other Berlin properties

Wombats City Hostel Berlin

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 93% from 26 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 96%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 96%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Wombats Berlin was a great place to stay. The location was very close to the U-bahn and Tram so it was very easy to get from the Berlin Hbf to the Hostel and then from the Hostel to the city center. They have a cool bar upstairs which is a great way to meet some new people to explore with. Overall I had a great stay and the staff made it a great experience offering recommendations for places to eat and sights to see. I will be back to Wombats Berlin and wherever else they have hostels.
  • 100%
  • 18 Mar 2017 Jordan USA
  • perfect stay for the night. The locker was not easy to close with the card, I had to try few times before to make it.
  • 94%
  • 26 Feb 2017 Mathilde France
  • Everything was very nice and organized. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bathroom as well. The hostel staff could be more careful with the luggage storage. I felt that they have little control over who takes the luggage out of the room.
  • 86%
  • 08 Feb 2017 Adriele Luxembourg
  • Really great hostel good location, cant say anything bad
  • 100%
  • 13 Jan 2017 Emma Victoria Zander Denmark
  • perfect hostel liked it very much! first time reserving a hostel and was great experience !
  • 100%
  • 05 Dec 2016 Anonymous Israel
  • Excellent hostel !! I am gonna stay here next time too. Friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money. The roof-top bar is just awesome.Had a lot of fun there. Wifi was slow lol ! But that's okay, we are not in Berlin to stay in the room !!
  • 97%
  • 27 Nov 2016 Rahul India
  • The location is convenient. Just a few steps from the Rosa-Luxemburg metro station on the U2. Staff was very helpful. Facilities were nice. I stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm which was ensuite. Security seemed good. Electronic key to enter your floor from elevator, your room and to open the storage locker in the room. Linen was included. There is a bar up on the seventh floor that I never made it to. They give you a coupon for a free drink when you arrive. Inexpensive Turkish restaurant nearby.
  • 94%
  • 14 Nov 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great place! Clean, well located, very comfortable. Very helpful staff. I will recommend it.
  • 97%
  • 17 Oct 2016 Luciana Anguilla
  • Make sure to check out the awesome rooftop bar. While the hostel itself doesn't organize a pub crawl, there's a pub-crawl pickup at the hostel every night. I joined for one and thought it was a blast, so that's also worth considering, especially if you don't know the city well. There are several nice local spots for eats and drinks near the hostel. Two places that made a particularly good impression include Kaschk (tasty craft beer) and Zur Rose (amazing Königsberg-style meatballs).
  • 94%
  • 05 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Though reduced to the minimal expression, the hostel has everything the average backpacker (or luggage carrier) could ever need. The breakfast is way worthy the €4,50 it costs, the cleaning service is great and so is the private bathroom that comes with the 6-bed dorm (though the shower drain didn't work well). The only thing lacking would be an air conditioning system (or a fan at least), but I reckon we had days over 30º C in September, which is rare in Berlin.
  • 97%
  • 13 Sep 2016 Juan Pedro Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »