See other Budapest properties

Wombats City Hostel Budapest

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 92% from 57 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The WiFi was not good at all.
  • 66%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostel is in a great location, very close to city center, food, bars, clubs, etc. It was incredibly walkable. The downside was the hostel seems to be designed for groups staying together. I travel alone and stay in hostels because I want to meet other people and explore the city together with them. There was a bar downstairs, but there weren't many single travelers and it wasn't designed for people to meet each other. The front desk was also often very busy and could not answer questions.
  • 69%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I really recomend this place if you would like to have a good time with other people and stay up almost all nights. I really liked the locker and the bathroom in the room. Do not expect to get a good sleep during weekends without your earplugs, as it is can get noisy at night/early morning. Almost all staff workers were really helpful and nice, except one who got a rude and angry attitidue to everyone I know lived there. Too bad for a otherwise pretty ok hostel.
  • 83%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Nicest hostel I've stayed at, however the wifi was not at all reliable. Breakfast was good, but at an additional cost. Individual charging stations, shelves, and lights at each bunk were nice!
  • 97%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Sophie Canada
  • Nice hostel to stay in Budapest. Near the center and near the area of the pub for the evening. The rooms are clean and big, the staff is freindly. Big Kitchen for the guest. NICE CHOISE FOR STAY IN BUDAPEST!
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Good: every bunk has a reading light, outlet, and little shelf; lockers assigned to your room key; communal kitchen; bathroom in your own suite; elevator available; near the main train station. --- Warnings: breakfast isn't free; HORRIBLE wifi signal. Didn't work more often than it did... Definitely a damper on my stay when I was trying to plan my next destination. --- Everything else about the hostel however, was great. The facilities were clean, the staff professional, common area awesome!
  • 86%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Pros: 1. Clean. 2. Great location, near the hip night life, but also a central Metro 3. Friendly Staff. Cons: 1. Wi-Fi is sporadic, weak and essentially non-existent. 2. The size and "vibe" of the place almost work against it, making for a very sedate, tame, and almost anonymous experience.
  • 83%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Eric USA
  • I really liked this hostel, excellent service, atmosphere, location, very silent, clean rooms, spacious, and I love the bar ad the free drink :) I really recommend this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • get a better wifi please!
  • 80%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Sarah Canada
  • Very good!
  • 100%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Rodrigo Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »