See other Budapest properties

Wombats City Hostel Budapest

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 88% from 53 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Wifi is week and breakfast is so so. Stuff is friendly and warmhearted.
  • 89%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Chuang China
  • Location was brilliant, staff and overall experience were nice and I thought price/quality was good! :) With 6 beds in room it maybe felt a little safer than huge dorms in some hostels, but I was left feeling a little impersonal about the place however, with its' dorms that were clean and came with lovely free soft linen but were all white and boring-looking (common areas were more nicely decorated though) and the place itself being really big, no such cosy atmosphere as in some smaller places.
  • 77%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Marika Finland
  • Easily one of the best hostels I've ever been to. It's clean, great location, relatively cheap compared to western europe, and best of all 21h century high-tech security lockers and doors. Only downside could be too many drunk British people staying in hostel
  • 100%
  • 26 Feb 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • It was really great!! very nice location and nice people and nice facilities!!
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2015 SUN JU South Korea
  • Very good location. It´s a big place, so staff varies, there were good people and helpful and others that couldn´t even make a call on your behalf to ask for the shuttle service or recommend a place to visit.
  • 77%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • It's perfect for someone who is looking for anonymity since the hostel is very big and it's kind of hard to get to know people who seem to be travelling in groups there. Otherwise the location is perfect, in the Jewish quarter where all the bars and many sights are. Direct access to the metro. Breakfast is ok and they have a good laundry service. I also liked the kitchen facilities. Staff is friendly and helpful. Free Walking Tours start from there as well.
  • 97%
  • 29 Jan 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • From two dumb Americans on a little trip to Budapest. The atmosphere of this place is great if you like to party and meet new people, rooms are quiet.. The bartender is maybe the coolest guy on earth. The rest of the staff are mostly mental invalids. Multiple occasions of people walking in, asking us how we got into our room (we teleported fyi) or just general rude behavior and mismanagement of routine activities. But what do you expect.
  • 77%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The high frequentation o this hostel and its big dimension is to me a little defect in sofar as I prefer rather intimate places, this hostel is almost a real hotel (with an unbeateable value for money!).
  • 83%
  • 09 Dec 2014 Audrenn France
  • Amazing place to meet fellow travelers from all over the world. Friendly staff with helpful advice on where to go out at night as well as where to eat and sight see. Rooms were big and very comfortable. Highly recommended
  • 100%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Khan USA
  • From my experience with Wombats Munich, I wanted to experience the same hospitality and fun atmosphere in Budapest!! I was not let down!! Each of the Wombats have the same wonderful, friendly, knowledgeable staff in all areas, with each of getting to sites and public transportation, from the door. Will definitely choose Wombats, whenever in a city where there is a 'Wombats'!! Great Job, folks!! See you when I can get back!! Keep up the great work!!
  • 100%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »