See other Budapest properties

Wombats City Hostel Budapest

Kiraly utca 20, Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 88% from 53 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was really great!! very nice location and nice people and nice facilities!!
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2015 SUN JU South Korea
  • Very good location. It´s a big place, so staff varies, there were good people and helpful and others that couldn´t even make a call on your behalf to ask for the shuttle service or recommend a place to visit.
  • 77%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • It's perfect for someone who is looking for anonymity since the hostel is very big and it's kind of hard to get to know people who seem to be travelling in groups there. Otherwise the location is perfect, in the Jewish quarter where all the bars and many sights are. Direct access to the metro. Breakfast is ok and they have a good laundry service. I also liked the kitchen facilities. Staff is friendly and helpful. Free Walking Tours start from there as well.
  • 97%
  • 29 Jan 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • From two dumb Americans on a little trip to Budapest. The atmosphere of this place is great if you like to party and meet new people, rooms are quiet.. The bartender is maybe the coolest guy on earth. The rest of the staff are mostly mental invalids. Multiple occasions of people walking in, asking us how we got into our room (we teleported fyi) or just general rude behavior and mismanagement of routine activities. But what do you expect.
  • 77%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The high frequentation o this hostel and its big dimension is to me a little defect in sofar as I prefer rather intimate places, this hostel is almost a real hotel (with an unbeateable value for money!).
  • 83%
  • 09 Dec 2014 Audrenn France
  • Amazing place to meet fellow travelers from all over the world. Friendly staff with helpful advice on where to go out at night as well as where to eat and sight see. Rooms were big and very comfortable. Highly recommended
  • 100%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Khan USA
  • From my experience with Wombats Munich, I wanted to experience the same hospitality and fun atmosphere in Budapest!! I was not let down!! Each of the Wombats have the same wonderful, friendly, knowledgeable staff in all areas, with each of getting to sites and public transportation, from the door. Will definitely choose Wombats, whenever in a city where there is a 'Wombats'!! Great Job, folks!! See you when I can get back!! Keep up the great work!!
  • 100%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The Wombat's chain of hostels are one of the best in Europe. I've stayed in two of their properties and they are first rate. Excellent facilities, new bathrooms, beautiful breakfast and lunch lounges, great locations, and above all the best staff's in the business. Very attentive and professional and always extremely helpful staff members. You can't go wrong staying at Wombat's in Budapest. Enjoy.
  • 100%
  • 23 Oct 2014 alan USA
  • The WiFi was not good at all.
  • 66%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostel is in a great location, very close to city center, food, bars, clubs, etc. It was incredibly walkable. The downside was the hostel seems to be designed for groups staying together. I travel alone and stay in hostels because I want to meet other people and explore the city together with them. There was a bar downstairs, but there weren't many single travelers and it wasn't designed for people to meet each other. The front desk was also often very busy and could not answer questions.
  • 69%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »