See other Munich properties

Wombats City Hostel Munich

Senefelderstrasse 1, Munich, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 89% from 103 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We have never seen a hostel where people like to stay in and hang out but this is definitely the one on the top of the chart if you want to meet new people. These guys know what it's like backpacking Europe and knowing what you need in a hostel to make things comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with lots of variety (even though you have to pay for it but worth it!). It's 3-5-minute walking distance from the train station and a 10-minute walk to downtown. Great staff too!
  • 97%
  • 14 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I enjoyed staying at this hostel very much. The staff are extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. This hostel offers your own locker, that locks with the key card, so it is very convenient. If you forgot or ran out of any toiletries, you can buy pretty much anything for 1€. You can even get a beer at their bar for a Euro during happy hour! The breakfast, although not included, is a really good value. All you can eat for 3.90€! I wish I could have stayed longer.
  • 100%
  • 14 May 2014 Anonymous
  • One of the best hostels in the world, the ambiance very good, very interesting to meet new people common area. Great location, next to a metro and train station. very attentive staff. I have really come to this hostel when you return in Munich.
  • 97%
  • 13 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Predominently catering for 20 something travellers. No kitchen facilities, happy hour in the bar. Walking tour was great. Handy to central station and walking distance to all major sites
  • 80%
  • 11 May 2014 megan Australia
  • Super hostel, really nice stay and made awesome friends!
  • 97%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Sophie Canada
  • I liked the bar but it was very small. The ceiling had electrical wires everywhere. It looked like it was bunches of them piled on top of one another and I'm convinced there will be a fire one day because of it. I had annoying roommates unfortunately that hogged the bathroom and I was forced to wait about 30 minutes standing outside the bathroom door while 2 of them laughed and talked and took their precious time. It would have been nice if I knew about an overflow bathroom for that situation.
  • 74%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Megan USA
  • Most of condition was really good. They also provide fruits for breakfast even if the breakfast fee was not free, but it was cheap. One thing that the bathroom in the 6 female dormitory smells not good.. Other parts were pretty good as a hostel.
  • 89%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Free beer coupon, though a small cup, definitely makes feel warmly welcomed by Munich after the boring time spent at either airport or airport shuttles...
  • 94%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
  • very very nice staff!!!
  • 100%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
  • Wombats Munich is centrally located and a 15 minute walk from the major attractions of Munich. The twin ensuite room was compact, however very neat and well maintained. They have a lovely common area with cushions and hammocks where you can lounge after a long day out, or if the weather isn't conducive for a romp outside. The bar area is small, and could do with more staff on busy evenings. Luggage storage room should be organised better. Overall we had a good stay.
  • 86%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »