See other Vienna properties

Wombats City Hostel Vienna- The Base

Grangasse 6, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 80% from 33 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Compared to the other Wombat Hostels, this place was a disappointment. The one at the Nachtsmarkt had a much better and more modern look and feel.
  • 60%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It's 2015: Wombats needs to add extension cords/more outlets to the dorms so EVERYONE can charge their phones at night! Seriously, major fail. and please dont let couples into dorms: watching them get intimate and touchy feely is the worst ! I had high hopes but was kind of let down: everyone seemed under 20yrs in the bar & unless u arrive via Westbanhof station location is too far from anything except Schonebrunn. Props to good wifi as well as HEAT & nice staff
  • 74%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is great. A good location, not far from the station, ten minutes walking. And no, this is not far. For people who complain, it's because they want to find reason to do it so. When you check it, you get a paper for a free drink at the bar, which is nice. The staff is really helpful and polite. The kitchen is great and complete.
  • 97%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Izabela Brazil
  • Very nice hostel for party and perfect location. Close to city center and the palace.
  • 100%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Camila Brazil
  • The rooms were great, the staff was very helpful and the bar was relly fun. The all you can eat brekfast was good too. All in all the experiance was great and you get a lot for your money.
  • 83%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Katarina Slovenia
  • Rude staff. I reserved a bed in a 4 beds female dorm. I ended up with 3 teenagers whom didn't stop talking (and I was a 25 years old TIRED because of her travel). Anyway, one of the girls decided to straighten her hair till 12.30PM leaving a burnt hair smell in the whole room the ENTIRE night (trust me it felt toxic). Restrooms were disgusting. Location off the main street, taking small empty dark streets didn't feel safe. Plus, it's quite a hike from main attractions. Def. not coming back!
  • 31%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I think the hostel was very cool and nice. I really like this place!
  • 91%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • I liked staying here because it felt social even though it was very large. I had trouble with my food disappearing out of the fridge even after labeling it and since the fridge is so small it was hard to get stuff in, as well it was gross with stuff spilled everywhere. The hostel is otherwise very clean. My only suggestion is some soap in the bathrooms because with 5 roommates I don't want to leave my soap in there and I definitely don't like knowing no one washed their hands.
  • 74%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Diane Canada
  • The only thing that was uncomfortable was kitchen opening at 12:00, it was almost impossible to cook something for your breakfast.
  • 89%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Julia Poland
  • The first shock was that there were only one power socket in a room of six beds, which was fixed with rentable extension cord, but it was still less than ideal. The room was really hot during the days (it was July) and the room was really small. This was more like a hotel type building with lots and lots of rooms and bar and kitchen downstairs, we didn't like the bar so much because the music was very loud but you could enjoy your drinks in the kitchen also. Good for partying, bad for talking.
  • 83%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »