See other Vienna properties

Wombats City Hostel Vienna- The Base

Grangasse 6, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 81% from 27 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I think the hostel was very cool and nice. I really like this place!
  • 91%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • I liked staying here because it felt social even though it was very large. I had trouble with my food disappearing out of the fridge even after labeling it and since the fridge is so small it was hard to get stuff in, as well it was gross with stuff spilled everywhere. The hostel is otherwise very clean. My only suggestion is some soap in the bathrooms because with 5 roommates I don't want to leave my soap in there and I definitely don't like knowing no one washed their hands.
  • 74%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Diane Canada
  • The only thing that was uncomfortable was kitchen opening at 12:00, it was almost impossible to cook something for your breakfast.
  • 89%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Julia Poland
  • The first shock was that there were only one power socket in a room of six beds, which was fixed with rentable extension cord, but it was still less than ideal. The room was really hot during the days (it was July) and the room was really small. This was more like a hotel type building with lots and lots of rooms and bar and kitchen downstairs, we didn't like the bar so much because the music was very loud but you could enjoy your drinks in the kitchen also. Good for partying, bad for talking.
  • 83%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Very near to metro station and cheap market. Very helpfull staff.
  • 94%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous Croatia
  • I heard train from Westbahnhof on my fifth storey very well and the additionally last night there was very loud wingding, on the street long after midnight.
  • 77%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Andrzej Poland
  • It is so noisy in this hostel and the location may be close to the train station but it's very far from anything else. Dirty bathrooms and very uncomfortable beds. Staff was very nice and helpful though.
  • 37%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Aislinn
  • Great atmosphere. Great bar!
  • 86%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Dean Australia
  • Loved this hostel, only bad thing was it was a little bit of a walk to the nearest metro. But you got a free drink coupon after checking in and you could play pool and fusball before going to the clubs!
  • 94%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff and facilities are great! Though the location is a bit far away from Westbahnhof station (around 10 to 15 mins walking distance), it really worth the price. Recommended!
  • 94%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »