See other Vienna properties

Wombats City Hostel Vienna- The Base

Grangasse 6, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 80% from 21 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 71%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very near to metro station and cheap market. Very helpfull staff.
  • 94%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous Croatia
  • I heard train from Westbahnhof on my fifth storey very well and the additionally last night there was very loud wingding, on the street long after midnight.
  • 77%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Andrzej Poland
  • It is so noisy in this hostel and the location may be close to the train station but it's very far from anything else. Dirty bathrooms and very uncomfortable beds. Staff was very nice and helpful though.
  • 37%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Aislinn
  • Loved this hostel, only bad thing was it was a little bit of a walk to the nearest metro. But you got a free drink coupon after checking in and you could play pool and fusball before going to the clubs!
  • 94%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff and facilities are great! Though the location is a bit far away from Westbahnhof station (around 10 to 15 mins walking distance), it really worth the price. Recommended!
  • 94%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Great place to stay in Vienna! The room is clean, organized and very comfortable. Very well located with many facilities for tourists.
  • 80%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Really good hostel, highly recommended
  • 100%
  • 19 Dec 2013 Anonymous Ukraine
  • Easily accessed from Westbahnhof with good access to food outlets and restuarants. Breakfast is available for €4 and is well worth the price. The staff are very helpful and having a 24 hour desk adds to the security. There is a bar on site and it was reasonably priced and a good palce to meet some of the fellow travellers. The main centre is about a 20 Minute walk but trams and metro are available if walking isn't your thing.
  • 100%
  • 11 Nov 2013 Anonymous England
  • You're guaranteed an extremely clean hostel every time you check into a Wombats. However, if you're looking to socialize, it's pretty difficult. This is by no means a party hostel - the WomBar provides minimal socializing space/opportunities. Be sure to buy the 4 euro breakfast, as it really is a great deal for Vienna. Location is alright, about 10 minutes to the metro station. Best to stay at the other 2 Wombats locations in the city if you'd like to stick with this chain. Reception was polite.
  • 80%
  • 28 Oct 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • NOTE: THIS IS NOT ONLY FOR BACKPACKERS. My friend and I thought it was and ended up having to share a room with a woman who commuted frequently to Vienna, went to bed at 10PM and screamed at us when we turned on our bed light at 12PM, although making no sounds whatsoever. She then woke us up by screaming in our face that we made 'sleeping noises' and demanded we sleep on our side. Was extremely uncomfortable to be waken up at 2am, 3am, 4am by someone screaming in your face. AWEFUL STAY.
    Owner Comment

    Oh wow, we´re so sorry. But how are we supposed to know your room mate is crazy? We don´t accomodate "regulars" or long-termers for exactly that reason, they are often nothing but trouble and think they own the place. That one must have slipped through. Please please please - when something like that happens, come to the reception and ask for a different room. There would have been plenty available on that night. You would have had your own room if you told us about the mad woman.

  • 31%
  • 11 Sep 2013 Anonymous Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »