See other Vienna properties

Wombats City Hostel Vienna- The Base

Grangasse 6, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 82% from 25 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The only thing that was uncomfortable was kitchen opening at 12:00, it was almost impossible to cook something for your breakfast.
  • 89%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Julia Poland
  • The first shock was that there were only one power socket in a room of six beds, which was fixed with rentable extension cord, but it was still less than ideal. The room was really hot during the days (it was July) and the room was really small. This was more like a hotel type building with lots and lots of rooms and bar and kitchen downstairs, we didn't like the bar so much because the music was very loud but you could enjoy your drinks in the kitchen also. Good for partying, bad for talking.
  • 83%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Very near to metro station and cheap market. Very helpfull staff.
  • 94%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous Croatia
  • I heard train from Westbahnhof on my fifth storey very well and the additionally last night there was very loud wingding, on the street long after midnight.
  • 77%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Andrzej Poland
  • It is so noisy in this hostel and the location may be close to the train station but it's very far from anything else. Dirty bathrooms and very uncomfortable beds. Staff was very nice and helpful though.
  • 37%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Aislinn
  • Great atmosphere. Great bar!
  • 86%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Dean Australia
  • Loved this hostel, only bad thing was it was a little bit of a walk to the nearest metro. But you got a free drink coupon after checking in and you could play pool and fusball before going to the clubs!
  • 94%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff and facilities are great! Though the location is a bit far away from Westbahnhof station (around 10 to 15 mins walking distance), it really worth the price. Recommended!
  • 94%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Great place to stay in Vienna! The room is clean, organized and very comfortable. Very well located with many facilities for tourists.
  • 80%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Really good hostel, highly recommended
  • 100%
  • 19 Dec 2013 Anonymous Ukraine
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »