See other Vienna properties

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - The Lounge

Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 87% from 38 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel cor stay.
  • 77%
  • 28 Feb 2014 yanuar
  • it is very good. the friendly and warm hearted wellcome made me feel the home. they give me a cup of something to drink in the cafe. everything there except the ventilation is good , I mean excellent. I think you did everything for travellers. so we should consider them next time when we go there to Viena again. very good.
  • 97%
  • 26 Jan 2014 shuheng China
  • Facilities were good , people at the reception were very nice :) location also convenient to go anywhere in Vienna
  • 97%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Nayeon South Korea
  • Bathroom becomes dirty after one use! And the kitchen looks not so clean...
  • 74%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Anonymous Vietnam
  • I've stayed in three hostels so far, and this was the best (and cheapest)! There was no hassle checking in or out. I could use the WI-FI in any part of the building! I got a free drink, which is super cool! The bathroom was attached to the bedroom, which was convenient. I could use the key for the lockers (again conveniently located inside the room) instead of having to use a coin. I even got complementary map of Vienna! I'd definitely stay there again.
  • 91%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Brandon USA
  • Stayed here three nights. The staff is very friendly and ready to help. Rooms are really clean. Loved that it is located near the shopping district. If you want to go to city center, you have a subway station right near the hostel. Cool place. I would definitely go back again.
  • 97%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous Kosovo
  • Loved the time in the Wombats, would definetly go again.
  • 97%
  • 01 Jan 2014 Anonymous Peru
  • I stayed there for 3 nights.The location is good, close to west train station and the main shopping street.Metro and bus stops are just around the corner. But I enjoyed walking to city centre, it's about 30 mins walk.All the reception staff are friendly and helpful, except the housekeeper talked too loud when he came in the room for cleaning in the morning, he didn't know someone was still sleeping.
  • 80%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Very good hostel. Location is not perfect, but it's near westbanhof, so if you are ariving or leaving the city through that station is pretty handy. Good atmosphere and nice bar inside the hostel. Paid breakfast was great.
  • 91%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • The location is a little bit far from the city center, but what I want to complain most is that the wifi sucks, I can't use it in my stay, I have to sit down at the nearest McDonald in case of the Internet using...Anyway, the receptions were kind and friendly to help, still had a great time in Vienna!
  • 77%
  • 22 Nov 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »