See other Vienna properties

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - The Lounge

Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 84% from 39 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • There was a big surprise for us because we got double bed room. We booked two beds in a dormitory room but we got room just for two of us. The room was outstanding. Clean and airy with a toilet. Also the crew of this hostel is very outgoing and friendly. We spent a very good time with them (till 4 am :))
  • 100%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • Massive hostel. Would recommend if student and/or traveling with friends as there is a bar/lounge area plus free welcoming drinks upon arrival. Breakfast was great and worth the small amount of money required for it. Staff were the best I've ever come across, very accommodating and helpful. Worth the stay.
  • 74%
  • 04 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Have stayed in both wombats Nachtmarkedt and the Lounge on different trips, both are clean tidy and have good security as expected with most large chains however they also have a bit of charecter. The Nachmarket is in my view a more atmospheric place, however it is in the markets and is less convenient than The Lounge that lies across the street from the westbahnhof.
  • 83%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Staff was so nice when we arrived, so our trip had a great start! Location was good near the shopping street and one train station. Rooms were nice and clean, wifi was fast and the lockers in the rooms were handy. Breakfast buffet was awesome, really value for the money that we paid for it. Some minor flaws: there were only three wall sockets in our room located right next to the door and hand soap and towel in the toilet would be nice, but still this hostel was quite a jackpot.
  • 91%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Great hostel cor stay.
  • 77%
  • 28 Feb 2014 yanuar
  • it is very good. the friendly and warm hearted wellcome made me feel the home. they give me a cup of something to drink in the cafe. everything there except the ventilation is good , I mean excellent. I think you did everything for travellers. so we should consider them next time when we go there to Viena again. very good.
  • 97%
  • 26 Jan 2014 shuheng China
  • Facilities were good , people at the reception were very nice :) location also convenient to go anywhere in Vienna
  • 97%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Nayeon South Korea
  • Bathroom becomes dirty after one use! And the kitchen looks not so clean...
  • 74%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Anonymous Vietnam
  • I've stayed in three hostels so far, and this was the best (and cheapest)! There was no hassle checking in or out. I could use the WI-FI in any part of the building! I got a free drink, which is super cool! The bathroom was attached to the bedroom, which was convenient. I could use the key for the lockers (again conveniently located inside the room) instead of having to use a coin. I even got complementary map of Vienna! I'd definitely stay there again.
  • 91%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Brandon USA
  • Stayed here three nights. The staff is very friendly and ready to help. Rooms are really clean. Loved that it is located near the shopping district. If you want to go to city center, you have a subway station right near the hostel. Cool place. I would definitely go back again.
  • 97%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous Kosovo
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »