See other Vienna properties

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - The Lounge

Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 83% from 45 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A friend and I stayed at the hostel for three nights. It was very good indeed. All of the people at the reception were very nice and helpful providing us with good information. The hostel directions lead you directly to the front door. They are quite useful. And the hostel is conveniently located very close to a train station and with lots of stores nearby. Breakfast was excellent at a very good price. I would definitely stay there again and I totally recommend it.
  • 91%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • Very nice staff, very nice bar with great prices, but the bathroom in the room wasn't that great and had some issues. The location is not the best, a little bit far from the city center, but really close to a metro station. But believe me, really nice bar and staff!
  • 71%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Hugo Brazil
  • I stay at Wombats a lot, they are safe, clean, reliable, they give you a free drink, I really like them. However I usually stay at the naschtmarkt and for me it is a little nicer than the lounge. Having said that, this hostel is RIGHT next to Westbahnhoff, perfect! The bathroom was unfortunately filthy in my dorm room, however this was entirely due to my room mates and the staff were kind enough to let me use the guest bathroom (ask for the key). The laundry is not as good as naschtmarkt either
  • 83%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • We really enjoyed staying here. The staff was great, and the location was excellent. The needs reach had lights and power outlets, and the dorm had its own bathroom. We would definitely stay here again.
  • 89%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Awesome breakfast (not included, 3,90 EUR).
  • 89%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Overall, this was a good hostel. The staff was excellent! We were able to get into our room early which was very welcome after a night train & staff answered all of our questions expertly in a friendly matter. Room was relatively small, but very clean- seemed a bit pricey for a hostel. With no air conditioning, the windows had to stay open and the street was somewhat noisy at night. The location seemed far from the main attractions, though it was very close to a subway stop.
  • 74%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Noisy at late time,becouse of in-house bar. I could not have good sleep,because other roommates made noisy talking at late time. And there were no notise for quiet time manner from staff.  
  • 66%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Koji Japan
  • TERRIBLE. All Facillities are drity. I've found bed bugs on my bed. But The staff just said 'We 'll check . That's all' What the hell.......?
  • 40%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Can't go wrong with a wombats hostel, had a great time here!
  • 97%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • There was a big surprise for us because we got double bed room. We booked two beds in a dormitory room but we got room just for two of us. The room was outstanding. Clean and airy with a toilet. Also the crew of this hostel is very outgoing and friendly. We spent a very good time with them (till 4 am :))
  • 100%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »