See other Vienna properties

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - The Lounge

Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 82% from 41 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall, this was a good hostel. The staff was excellent! We were able to get into our room early which was very welcome after a night train & staff answered all of our questions expertly in a friendly matter. Room was relatively small, but very clean- seemed a bit pricey for a hostel. With no air conditioning, the windows had to stay open and the street was somewhat noisy at night. The location seemed far from the main attractions, though it was very close to a subway stop.
  • 74%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Noisy at late time,becouse of in-house bar. I could not have good sleep,because other roommates made noisy talking at late time. And there were no notise for quiet time manner from staff.  
  • 66%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Koji Japan
  • TERRIBLE. All Facillities are drity. I've found bed bugs on my bed. But The staff just said 'We 'll check . That's all' What the hell.......?
  • 40%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • There was a big surprise for us because we got double bed room. We booked two beds in a dormitory room but we got room just for two of us. The room was outstanding. Clean and airy with a toilet. Also the crew of this hostel is very outgoing and friendly. We spent a very good time with them (till 4 am :))
  • 100%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • Massive hostel. Would recommend if student and/or traveling with friends as there is a bar/lounge area plus free welcoming drinks upon arrival. Breakfast was great and worth the small amount of money required for it. Staff were the best I've ever come across, very accommodating and helpful. Worth the stay.
  • 74%
  • 04 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Have stayed in both wombats Nachtmarkedt and the Lounge on different trips, both are clean tidy and have good security as expected with most large chains however they also have a bit of charecter. The Nachmarket is in my view a more atmospheric place, however it is in the markets and is less convenient than The Lounge that lies across the street from the westbahnhof.
  • 83%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Staff was so nice when we arrived, so our trip had a great start! Location was good near the shopping street and one train station. Rooms were nice and clean, wifi was fast and the lockers in the rooms were handy. Breakfast buffet was awesome, really value for the money that we paid for it. Some minor flaws: there were only three wall sockets in our room located right next to the door and hand soap and towel in the toilet would be nice, but still this hostel was quite a jackpot.
  • 91%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Great hostel cor stay.
  • 77%
  • 28 Feb 2014 yanuar
  • it is very good. the friendly and warm hearted wellcome made me feel the home. they give me a cup of something to drink in the cafe. everything there except the ventilation is good , I mean excellent. I think you did everything for travellers. so we should consider them next time when we go there to Viena again. very good.
  • 97%
  • 26 Jan 2014 shuheng China
  • Facilities were good , people at the reception were very nice :) location also convenient to go anywhere in Vienna
  • 97%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Nayeon South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »