See other Chicago properties

Wrigley Hostel

3514 N Sheffield Ave, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.7km

Rating: 89% from 59 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I think there should be more information about how the baseball games at Wrigley's Field affect the availability for parking at the hostel. To say that the hostel has parking is pretty misleading as you can't park particularly near it unless you have a permit and, when the games are on, it's $30 to park which significantly increases the costs of staying there of course. Even when games aren't on it's $20 to park per day. I think that this should be more clearly stated as it is a significant cost
  • 60%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Paul England
  • I've stayed here before and never had a problem with dorm mates. Unfortunately this time, I had two people who thought it was appropriate to talk incessantly in the middle of the night. Kind of out of the hands of the hostel but I think reminding guests of common courtesy dorm rules would be a good idea. Overall an excellent hostel that has become my go-to Chicago place.
  • 91%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • If you are driving make sure to reserve a parking pass 48 hours in advance.
  • 69%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • This hostel sucked. There was hardly any activities organised and the two activities that were scheduled were cancelled with no notice. The bathrooms were all dirty and in desperate need of a renovation. Only one shower had any water pressure coming out of the head, and one day I had to leave a bathroom I was using because the shower was literally dribbling water when turned on to full. The beds were all very uncomfortable and the pillow I was given was too lumpy to be of any use. Stay elsewhere
  • 46%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • When booking the hostel at hostels.com we paid a non-refundable charge of US$38.00. Upon arrival at the accommodation we thought we only had to pay the outstanding amount US$264.00 as written in the confirmation mail. However, instead we had to pay the full balance of US$300.00 + taxes. We tried to explain it at the reception at checkout, but we couldn't get our money back, so we ended up paying US$38.00 more than expected.
    Owner Comment

    Hi, I am sorry there was some confusion regarding your payment. When you checked in we did deduct the $38 deposit you paid online to Hostels.com. We then added the required tax and your total came to the right amount that you paid. You paid the right amount for your stay. Thank you again for staying and we would love for you to stay again :)

  • 63%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Mathias Denmark
  • The location of the wrigley hostel is excellent, close to the red line, close to many restaurants and bars. The neighborhood is safe and walkable. The staff was very helpful and made me feel welcome. Great place to stay in Chicago!
  • 91%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Gary USA
  • Perfect location, great place, excellent staff! I came along and I met amazing people at this hostel and made many new friends! I definitely recommend this hostel! Lot of fun!
  • 91%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • great staff, great space, everything good.
  • 97%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Ana
  • I stayed June 2nd and 3rd in room 14 and had the 4-bunkbed room to myself. Staff orientation to the property and how they run the facility was poor -- they did not introduce themselves by name or wear name badges or shirts to ID themselves -- making it difficult to know who was a guest and who was staff. I was not told that staff would inspect the room (which is fine - -I had nothing to hide), but they didn't knock. There was no soap in the bathroom or hot water or much water pressure.
  • 46%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Jennifer USA
  • A really good hostel. Nice and clean and enough space to chill out, cook or meet others.
  • 100%
  • 27 May 2014 Nicolai Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »