See other Chicago properties

Wrigley Hostel

3514 N Sheffield Ave, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.7km

Rating: 79% from 32 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place works if all you want is cheap, but I found it lacking in many areas. This is too short of a space to detail each grievance, but having stayed at many other hostels that were fun and lively I think I can sum it up by saying this place lacks a sense of hospitality. There were two super nice desk workers (one named letha? I think), but the rest of the staff seemed like they could care less. The house rules make this seem more like high school summer camp than a place where adults stay.
  • 49%
  • 22 May 2016 Dustin
  • Arriving to breakfast at the first morning, I was basically told, that the othr guests ate too much and too fast and that- bad luck for me- there won't be new breakfast (pancakes, waffles) for at least 20 minutes. In my opinion that's a NoGo! I was pissed the first morning, not a good start.
  • 69%
  • 18 May 2016 Israa
  • The staff was very friendly upon arrival and during my entire stay. I didnt get much time to interact with my other roommates in the dorm, but they were very kind and respectful. sleeping mattress was comfortable and blankets were good too. The cleanliness was spot on with cozy bathroom. The water pressure in one of the bathroom was little less, but was hot enough for a chilly morning. Breakfast serving included pancakes, fruits, coffee etc. Overall great stay.
  • 100%
  • 24 Mar 2016 Parag India
  • The heat in our room (Room 15) was loud enough to wake me up more than once! I will not stay here again unless that is fixed.
  • 80%
  • 29 Dec 2015 Judy USA
  • When I got there, one of their rep said that they changed their maximum 14 days staying to 7 days. And I asked her why didn't you let me know ahead? I was suprised when I heard her saying that Now, you know it. So will you stay or not? The attitude of rep at that time was so crappy, disgusting, dirty, disgraceful for me. I wanna say even worse word. But, I don't wanna say about it worse because I wanna be gentle men. They should know respect for their own customer if they wanna keep business.
  • 54%
  • 07 Dec 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • One of the bathrooms didn't have any soap, the other didn't have a mirror. There were weird stains in the sink that someone made that never got bothered to be cleaned up the entire duration of our stay. A fire alarm went off in the middle of the night for no apparent reason and woke us up. Breakfast was nice.
  • 60%
  • 31 Oct 2015 Casey USA
  • They can't speak English!
  • 31%
  • 22 Oct 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Great location, just around the corner from Wrigley field! Staff was really nice. Internet worked great, good breakfast. The room was pretty dusty but apart from that the hostel was clean, especially the bathrooms. Regarding the atmosphere I cannot really say anything, it was very quiet when I was there.
  • 83%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Location is good and the place is clean. However, any positive quality it has is overshadowed by the rudeness and disrespect of its staff. One of the staff (a woman working on a Sunday morning) didn't like my answer to her question and was totally belligerent, used the F word and said she could kick me out. Hostels should be reminded that although these are cheaper alternatives that we use, we are still customers. If it weren't for our patronage, they wouldn't have a business in the first place.
  • 63%
  • 09 Oct 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • I had a great time at the Wrigley Hostel. Nice staff, nice location. I recommend this place for someone who does not want to be downtown but still wants to feel the Chicago vibe.
  • 83%
  • 09 Oct 2015 Evelyne Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »