See other Tokyo properties

YADOYA Guesthouse for Backpackers

2-18-6 Nakano, Nakano-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 85% from 16 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very, very, very small and tight. No roomto open a luggage. Good WiFi and staff at reception. Very good location (quiet, accessible, 7/11 in front of the hostel).
  • 71%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Anonymous Slovakia
  • I loved the time I spent here! Everything was super clean, the taff were knowledgable and extremely helpful. The location is prime and there is lots to do/see neark nakano. I'd definitely come back again.
  • 100%
  • 08 Apr 2015 Andrea Canada
  • Stayed here for 6 nights in the 4 bed female dorm. It was smaller than I had expected but it met my two basic needs: a place to sleep and shower. Shower and toilet room were kept clean. The staff were really nice and helpful. A 7Eleven right across the street was so convenient! Very close to Nakano station. I would stay here again..maybe with a backpack this time as opposed to my 50 pound luggage.
  • 80%
  • 02 Apr 2015 Renee USA
  • Our stay was very pleasant, however, there is one thing that really bothered us. Our room window was facing the alley where the entrace is after hours & one night we overhead one of the staff members (young, american (?) guy) badmouthing guests to other guests (he couldn't understand how someone staying chose Yadoya for their honeymoon, as it's the "shittiest" hostel in Tokyo), he also complained about room cleaning. This we found quite unacceptable behavior. Guests pay his salary, you know.
  • 86%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Friendly stuff, had a great week here. Was easy to sleep except for the last two nights as of a snorer. Bring ear plugs!
  • 80%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I really like Yadoya. Staff is friendly, clean place and I really enjoyed my new year there. I can definitely recommend this hostel to everyone!
  • 86%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Milla Finland
  • It was my second time staying here. The location is quite easy to find and near the center of the city like shinjyuku or shibuya. you can also go to tokyo station without transfer by using chyuoline the staff was kind even i dont have much chance to talk with them if you have to do late check in, then you can do it when you tell them in advance. Actually the dorm room was super small but if you want a place just for a sleep, i recommend this hostel!!
  • 80%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • This place was cheap, nice, close to the city center, clean with kind staffs and good atmosphere. You have to prepare your own towels and washing tools. But everything was nice, secure, and neat. More worth than the price. I really liked this place.
  • 89%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I loved saying at this hostel. The atmosphere was contagions and I meet so many wonderful people. The showers need to be repainted, other then that this hostel is perfect.
  • 94%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is quite typical, it's nice and all. The location was pretty aweful, it took a long time even just waiting for a train due to its end of the line location. The actual town didn't have a lot to do, the shopping arcade selling anime related merchandise was the only highlight, but Akihabara was better for that sort of thing.
  • 71%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Tim England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »