See other Tokyo properties

YADOYA Guesthouse for Backpackers

2-18-6 Nakano, Nakano-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 85% from 14 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Our stay was very pleasant, however, there is one thing that really bothered us. Our room window was facing the alley where the entrace is after hours & one night we overhead one of the staff members (young, american (?) guy) badmouthing guests to other guests (he couldn't understand how someone staying chose Yadoya for their honeymoon, as it's the "shittiest" hostel in Tokyo), he also complained about room cleaning. This we found quite unacceptable behavior. Guests pay his salary, you know.
  • 86%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Friendly stuff, had a great week here. Was easy to sleep except for the last two nights as of a snorer. Bring ear plugs!
  • 80%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I really like Yadoya. Staff is friendly, clean place and I really enjoyed my new year there. I can definitely recommend this hostel to everyone!
  • 86%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Milla Finland
  • It was my second time staying here. The location is quite easy to find and near the center of the city like shinjyuku or shibuya. you can also go to tokyo station without transfer by using chyuoline the staff was kind even i dont have much chance to talk with them if you have to do late check in, then you can do it when you tell them in advance. Actually the dorm room was super small but if you want a place just for a sleep, i recommend this hostel!!
  • 80%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • This place was cheap, nice, close to the city center, clean with kind staffs and good atmosphere. You have to prepare your own towels and washing tools. But everything was nice, secure, and neat. More worth than the price. I really liked this place.
  • 89%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I loved saying at this hostel. The atmosphere was contagions and I meet so many wonderful people. The showers need to be repainted, other then that this hostel is perfect.
  • 94%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is quite typical, it's nice and all. The location was pretty aweful, it took a long time even just waiting for a train due to its end of the line location. The actual town didn't have a lot to do, the shopping arcade selling anime related merchandise was the only highlight, but Akihabara was better for that sort of thing.
  • 71%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Tim England
  • Easy to find. Great directions. Kind staff. Very helpful.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Ryan USA
  • There is a 7 eleven in front of the hostel. And the Nakano train station is 5min walking from the hostel.
  • 83%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Ana Cláudia Brazil
  • Easy access to Tokyo, friendly staff, overall pretty small but there`s everything you need!
  • 91%
  • 03 May 2014 Helen Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »