See other Basel properties

YMCA Hostel Basel

Gempenstrasse 64, Basel, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 93% from 13 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 96%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was our first time in a Hostel and we stayed at YMCA in Basel, Switzerland. We were a family with 2 kids, 11 and 5yrs old. We got a family room and we were amazed at the cleanliness of the place. This hostel was very convenient to the train station and tram stops. The staff was very nice and courteous and they allowed us to put our luggage in the locker even after we checked out... I will definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who visits Basel..
  • 100%
  • 02 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Absolutely brilliant place-very close to railway but on a quiet beautiful streets. Shop and transport 3 minute walk. The facilities are lovely. I would absolutely recommend this hostel to everyone. Staff were very friendly. Kitchen facilities spacious, clean and up tp date.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jul 2013 Helen Australia
  • The location was great - just a few blocks from the train station, and the strain stations has everything, including two supermarkets. We bought ingredients for our dinners, and enjoyed using the kitchen and sharing the space with so many interesting people. This really kept the price of staying in Switzerland reasonable.
  • 91%
  • 10 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel and clean, but only three parking spaces available, and the public parking is like hell
  • 80%
  • 28 Jun 2013 Anonymous Egypt
  • I loved this hostel!! Probably the best that I have ever lived in!! It had a hotel atmosphere and great facilities including a fully-equipped kitchen, plus its location close to the train station was superb. The free public transport pass went a long way in making the entire stay awesome. The only downside is, breakfast is not included in the price; you got to pay CHF 5 each morning. Overall, excellent!!
  • 97%
  • 18 Jun 2013 Anonymous Kenya
  • Nice kitchen, very nice place to stay
  • 86%
  • 11 May 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • This place completely exceeded my expectations! I had a single bedroom that was truly amazing, it looked like something out of an Architecture Digest magazine, very modern, simple, and Swiss design. The entire building is carefully designed to incorporate nature, reduced noise pollution, and to create a tranquil setting. Well done!
  • 89%
  • 07 May 2013 Jeremy USA
  • It's a clean, tidy hostel. Great place to rest but not a place to hang out or meet lots of people. It's very quiet. Great showers and rooms.
  • 83%
  • 28 Apr 2013 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »