See other Brussels properties

Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)

rue Traversiere 8, 1210 Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 75% from 28 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Towels could be provided. Breakfast could be improved.
  • 69%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Manickam India
  • Unfortunately the hostel is located near the Brussels red light district, but everything else was great. Wifi is only stable in the lobby area but it is nicely furnished. Rooms were clean and the view outside our window was also pretty nice!
  • 83%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Yin Wei Singapore
  • you can only sleep between two sheets. the blanket is dirty.the locker seems to be broken soon.
  • 57%
  • 05 Apr 2014 sizhu China
  • Good value for money but nothing special. Common area is bland and staff is friendly enough. Sink in room and private toilets.
  • 83%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was good value for the money (very cheap). Overall it was kind of creepy-ish; the beds looked like a prison dormitory, and the showers and bathroom were sketchy. But honestly I just needed a place to put my stuff and sleep at night, so it was all right.
  • 54%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel was on walking distance to city center and all the interesting sightseeing. Staff was very helpfull for any advise, where to go, what to see. Hostel is not the fanciest, but OK vaule for money.
  • 66%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous Slovakia
  • The shared rooms are very small and the whole place is not really clean. They put really good music at the bar though. And I appreciated the free breakfast.
  • 49%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Diego Chile
  • Located in a dangerous district, no hairdryer for ladies, unisex shower (bad!), old blankets, room (twin private) not equiped with furniture (there is no wardrobe) and not in the same building as the reception, which is not very comfortable.
  • 49%
  • 31 Oct 2013 Anonymous Moldova
  • Location within 100m of a metro stop was good and 15 moms walk into the centre. Staff were friendly. However lockers were few and only available at reception. Some of the doors (internal) did not lock, and the showers either had cold water or just a little trickle that made it difficult to wash properly.
  • 69%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Very nice hostel! Its was clean, friendly and comfortable. The only thing that bothers me, was that there was no soap at the toilets. I couldn't find the showers either. Only stayed one night, so i didn't need a shower; i guess they are there somewhere. All in all a nice hostel. And the breakfast was really great.
  • 77%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Sune Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »