See other Brussels properties

Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)

rue Traversiere 8, 1210 Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 75% from 31 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The wifi wasn't very good, and there was no hand soap. Also, the showers made you hold down the button, it was warm though. The staff was okay but not really friendly. The location was a bit hard to find and it was a bit far from the square. However there were sound stairs and I got some friendly roommates. There weren't enough outlets for everyone though and the commons didn't have that many either. Overall I give it just average.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I loved this hostel! Everything is set to make new friends easily : The breakfast place, the bar, the kitchen, the solarium, the garden! Thumbs up to Benoit the barman and to Maurice « de l'île Maurice » who was obsessed with La Chouffe beer! I wasn't too impressed by the receptionist who took half an hour to check me in and by the receptionist who was really strict with the peope partying late at night thought.
  • 83%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Never met more helpful and nicer people in my entire life. People that work at the reception are wonderful! I really enjoyed staying there. If I ever travel to Brussels again I'll definitely choose this place :)
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Dominika Poland
  • Great stay, loved the room, common room, good breakfast, just wished the showers were a little warmer
  • 83%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Ryan
  • DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Worst hostel I have ever stayed at. -The room was noisy -Unclean hostel -Unhelpful staff -Lots of youth (Ages 14-16) staying in large groups at this hostel
  • 29%
  • 12 May 2015 Shannon Canada
  • In few toilets hadwash liquid was missing. I also went to reception and asked about handwash but did not get any appropriate answer. There are a few power point plugs in each room and it is installed at arbitrary position.
  • 89%
  • 07 May 2015 Anonymous India
  • It was good location&customer service. But the wall between rooms are tiny thin. It is easy to hear what other people are talking in the next room.
  • 94%
  • 09 Apr 2015 Anonymous Mongolia
  • The breakfast was good
  • 54%
  • 06 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • 21yr old female traveller, travelling alone. The hostel was very well located, easy to find and has everything you need. The atmosphere was allright but could've been a bit better. Maybe because it wasn't in a busy season. I had a 4 bed mixed shared room to myself which was nice at first but then felt quite lonely towards the end. This could've been improved if I'd shared a room with at least one other person. The toilet facilities on my floor were of a good standard and very clean.
  • 86%
  • 27 Jan 2015 Anonymous England
  • I really enjoyed my stay. The staffs were amezing and helpful. I will definetely stay there again when I visit brussels
  • 97%
  • 26 Dec 2014 bernadette Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »