See other Brussels properties

Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)

rue Traversiere 8, 1210 Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 72% from 26 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location just outside the center (30min to get there). A lot of bathrooms and showers. Cheap hostel bar but bad internet reception. Quite nice hostel.
  • 86%
  • 30 May 2014 Sophie Canada
  • Large, well-kept hostel that felt comfortable and safe. Probably noisier during full tourist season. Good location, with the city centre accessible by metro or walking. Breakfast was entirely adequate – great muesli.
  • 91%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Dirty room a little bit, people who do not respect the others rest time and very old blankets
  • 60%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • I was in brussels only for a day....a nice place to stay with a bar, pool table, kitchen, lawn, laundry.....the locker room sucked big time though....it was probably coz the main one was undergoing renovation.
  • 71%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous India
  • The hostel is ok. It is a bit far from downtown and in a kind of hill. Our room was ok, a little bit old and the shower just had a button, no temperature control. Breakfast is not a big deal but at least is included. They have a really nice chill-out area and terrace to hang out. Overall it is good with affordable prices.
  • 69%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Towels could be provided. Breakfast could be improved.
  • 69%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Manickam India
  • Unfortunately the hostel is located near the Brussels red light district, but everything else was great. Wifi is only stable in the lobby area but it is nicely furnished. Rooms were clean and the view outside our window was also pretty nice!
  • 83%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Yin Wei Singapore
  • you can only sleep between two sheets. the blanket is dirty.the locker seems to be broken soon.
  • 57%
  • 05 Apr 2014 sizhu China
  • Good value for money but nothing special. Common area is bland and staff is friendly enough. Sink in room and private toilets.
  • 83%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was good value for the money (very cheap). Overall it was kind of creepy-ish; the beds looked like a prison dormitory, and the showers and bathroom were sketchy. But honestly I just needed a place to put my stuff and sleep at night, so it was all right.
  • 54%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »