See other Zurich properties

Youthhostel Zurich

Mutschellenstr. 114, Zurich, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 2.7km

Rating: 78% from 18 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 68%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great big common room with great atmosphere + nice bar. Stayed in a room with three more people and it was OK. Prices are good (for Switzerland). It's great that reception is staffed 24/7 although the night staff were not as helpful or knowledgable as the day staff.
  • 89%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • Zurich is nice, cool but expensive. Einfach ZuReich!
  • 94%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Anonymous Greece
  • It would have been nice to have a fridge for the guests. Breakfast was generous and good, beds comfy, but 20 euros for a meal was outrageous. This is NOT a first class restuarant. I felt I was in the grip of a money hungry monster while there; pay for every little thing..15 euros for 1 hour of pool ??? Zurich needs a little more hostel competition who aren't so money hungry.
  • 60%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. Very secure building with a great free breakfast and a great atmosphere. One of the disappointing things was the location... it's quite far from the city center but om a bike, I was able to reach the hostel in under 20 min from downtown. I would definitely return here!
  • 77%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel is not worthy for the money we paid. After booking the hostel again they have asked us to pay 6 Euro per day or 30 Euro for yearly membership. Without membership you can not sleep in hostel after paying 38 Euros per day. They have mentioned no where while booking the hostel that you have to pay Membership fees if you want to sleep in the hostel. This is really bad and no mean that they are asking extra 6 euro per day if you want to sleep in hostel after paying 38 Euros.
  • 69%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Anonymous India
  • The hostel was nice, clean and I enjoyed the breakfast a lot. It was a little bit far from the city center though.
  • 80%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Anonymous Albania
  • the hostel was boring and far from everything. the staff was very helpful and nice
  • 80%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Anonymous India
  • Pretty expensive, but that's most things in Zürich. The hostel is very modern, great atmosphere, lots of games in the common area, open all hours. A bit far from downtown, but the transit system is very good.
  • 86%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Only real minus point was that the toilets were not cleaned daily. That is, someone had pissed a bit next to the toilet, and the other day this was still dirty with the same shape of stains... The other toilets were clean though. I like that the building as a whole is spacious. In the late evening and night, you need enter the hostel through a double door, which gives an extra sense of safety.
  • 77%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Marten Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »