See other Kyoto properties

bAKpAK Gion Hostel

2-244 Miyagawa Suji, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 85% from 13 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I live in Shiga so I used to stay at this hostel a lot before I met someone to stay with in Kyoto on weekends. The location cannot be better, it has everything you need and is very fun to stay in. I have stayed with visiting family, friends and alone. Sometimes friends and I even go to the hostel just to see who is there and we invite them out for the night with us. If you are on a budget, love the nightlife, need good tips and are social, this is your best bet in the city.
  • 89%
  • 03 May 2014 James USA
  • This place is very cheap but has seen better days. It attracted a good mix of people though.
  • 83%
  • 10 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great location. Very good price!! One thing to improve is maybe to have some bowls to allow microwave cooking. All other things are fine!!
  • 89%
  • 18 Jan 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Directions to hostel were bad. The hostel is behind the subway, not in front as stated online. Staff were ok, sometimes helpful, sometimes just oblivious. Rooms were clean. Floor levels are somewhat confusing and not labeled correctly. You think you're on the 3rd floor, but not. Stairs are narrow. Free lockers and key, but you have to ask for a key. Lounge area good. One public computer. Hostel located near supermarket, which is good. Five minute walk over the bridge to the major shopping areas.
  • 60%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • It is very convenient. We are happy with our stay.
  • 86%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Lai cheng Singapore
  • Small & weird lavatories, Poorly decorated rooms and Unwelcoming atmosphere.
  • 49%
  • 24 Nov 2013 Anonymous Turkey
  • The location was convenient to nearby attractions, most places are within walking distance. The staff was helpful, sociable and had good resources (maps/directions). Everything was good except the washroom is quite small. We were glad that we can leave our bags in the hostel after check out.
  • 77%
  • 18 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Very friendly and helpful staff, location is superb, the hostel is clean and the only problem I found is that there is a kitchen with a toaster but stove.
  • 97%
  • 03 Oct 2013 Pedro Spain
  • Very friendly and helpful staff, location is superb, the hostel is clean and the only problem I found is that there is a kitchen with a toaster but stove.
  • 97%
  • 30 Sep 2013 Pedro Spain
  • Great environment and the owner is a wonderful person. There are many good informations for backpackers. Thanks for all the great moments.
  • 94%
  • 25 Sep 2013 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »